A tale of a bathroom reno: the master

This was a major undertaking – the renovation of the master bathroom.  Our master bath was very dated – 1990’s light oak, jetted tub (that we never used), the one-sink vanity that had seen better days, and there was this really random shelf and wasted space at the foot of the tub.  Rue figured out how to get the door on the tub open and took it upon herself to explore the mechanics of the jetted tub, so we {and by we I mean I} duck-taped it closed with some classy mustache tape.  {Kevin probably would have preferred Rue having access to the underbelly of the tub than look at that mustache tape day in and day out!}  All that to say, we were really excited to update the bathroom.

We have a contractor guy who works with his son on projects such as these so we got a quote and some ideas from them and started buying the stuff.  So much stuff.  Kevin is really good at piecing these projects together and he pays attention to the details.  I’m more big picture.  I know what I like, I know what I don’t like, but I can’t really articulate that until I see it in a photo or something.  I sometimes get a little impatient because he is so deliberate and doesn’t rush decisions.  Basically if we ever built a house from the ground up, he would just have to make all the decisions and tell me when to move in because I get so bored with the details!

Anyway, Kirk and Scott set to work on June 5 and finished on June 21.  A bigger company probably would have done it faster – for a price – but we really like knowing and trusting the people working in our house.  And they do great work, so it was definitely a great decision.

Here are the photos, by phase!

And some final photos with the paint touched up and our stuff moved in…

We worked with a local company to get the vanity and shelves custom built.  The place does granite work, which is why we looked there to begin with – the granite top of the vanity is also from them.  We already can’t wait to have that company gives us an estimate to replace our kitchen countertops!  From one project to the next.

And a tale for another day – the next chapter in the adventures of Ruester. She took it upon herself to explore the space between the first floor and the second floor. That cat – she’s a pistol.

Do you like the idea of building a house from the ground up, with all the little decisions that entails?  Any big projects on the horizon for your space?

7 thoughts on “A tale of a bathroom reno: the master

  1. I love watching home renovations on HGTV, but I’ve done very little of them myself. Right now, we’re in a small home in a small home/starter home kind of neighborhood, and I feel like if we did TOO much renovating, we wouldn’t really see much return on our investment. Your bathroom reno looks amazing, though

  2. GORGEOUS!! Amy, it looks so great! Kevin did a great job with all those details he hashed out with the guys! And you two have great taste in design. Love it all! :)

  3. Jimmy and I are exactly like you and Kevin (Jimmy being like Kevin, me being like you) with renovations! I know what I like based off of pictures and Jimmy is super into details!

    Love, love, love the reno! It looks beautiful. Love Rue’s adventures and I cannot wait to hear all about it!

  4. What a large space! Looks great. You can’t substitute time for quality, some may work slower but honestly they usually do a better job at a fairer price :) I am working on a lot of home renovations now, and an addition, but one day I would love to build a whole house!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

