That’s a wrap {June}.

 

Links to Love:

  1. This song (Homecoming – Josh Ritter) was at the end of the Billions season finale and I immediately bought it on iTunes.  My play count since purchase is probably 100+.  (Slight exaggeration.  Slight.  Maybe.)  I love it.
  2. Speaking of songs, Rach shared this one recently, and it really resonated.  Hannah Kerr’s voice is beautiful.
  3. Comparing the Big 12 Football Teams to characters from The Office – I thought this was pretty funny.
  4. Heart eyes on this little video – a baby elephant chasing birds.

Making Memories:

  1. Our master bath renovation took a little over two weeks but it is over now and we are so, so happy with the results!  Our bathroom feels so luxurious and spa-like.
  2. Kevin and I have each made time for friends in June.  He met up with some guys he used to work with for a golf tournament and they had a great time.  I’ve lunched and brunched with a few friends, and we met up with my aunt and some of my cousins for dinner one night.
  3. I started a pre-natal yoga continuing education class.  It’s eight weeks and I think it’ll be really good for me and therefore the little guy.
  4. Speaking of our boy, we have announced his name:  Owen Daniel.  Owen was honestly the only name that Kevin and I agreed we strongly liked and Daniel is Kevin’s middle name.  We’ve probably known for two months that Owen was the strongest name contender, but we waited for quite awhile to share because why not?
  5. Ava had a lot of fun in June.  She’s been to the zoo a couple of times, had a few play dates, played in sprinklers with the neighborhood kids, and went swimming for the first time!
  6. We have felt so blessed by the outpouring of love and support from family and friends. Seriously – I’m so humbled by the generosity of the people in our lives. Kevin’s parents have kept us fed from the day of the surgery forward and so many others have given food and time and prayers and gifts and…we’re just so fortunate.

Bookish:

  1. I’m still currently reading Team of Rivals (slow and steady progress) and re-reading the fourth Harry Potter.  I also started Emma and I’m really enjoying it!  Jane Austen is so witty.
  2. The only book I finished in June was actually an Audible book:  Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella.  Definitely not my favorite book by her – I gave it three stars.  It’s hard to say for sure, but I may have liked it better if I’d read it rather than listened to it.
  3. Kevin finished Good to Great and gave it five stars.  (Ron, are you reading this?  I promise we’re not just saying five stars because you’d disown us if we rated Jim Collins any lower.  ;-) Kevin really loved the book and sees so much application for it at work.)
  4. Kevin is reading American Lion:  Andrew Jackson in the White House by Jon Meacham.  He is also listening to Treason, which is the sequel to Duplicity, the book we listened to on our way to and from Denver last December.
  5. We also are both still listening to David Sedaris’ Me Talk Pretty One Day.  And we found out that David Sedaris is coming to town in November!!  We’re definitely going to go to that show.
  6. Ava made a trip to the library in June and has really enjoyed two of her checked out board books:  Show Me Your Feelings and Baby’s First Words.

Challenges:

  1. This post goes into the details, but finding out on June 1 that Ava’s hip is out of joint and she would require surgery was undoubtedly a monster challenge.  The month included a lot of anxiety, tears, and research as we tried to prepare ourselves.  A few decisions were made:  I decided to take a leave of absence from Junior League which meant abandoning my role on the board and Kevin decided to decline the offer to be the head coach of the middle school football team at his alma mater.  We both struggle with feeling like we’re letting people down by backing away from those commitments, but I feel strongly that as rewarding as those roles would be in a normal fall, we simply have too much else going on personally and professionally.
  2. The surgery was Wednesday and it was a very, very hard day. We had to be there at 6:15 am and they called us back around 7:00. By then Ava was starting to get hungry and she doesn’t care for medical professionals anyway, so we went into meltdown mode pretty quick. And by we I mean both her and me. The people – nurses, surgeon, anesthesiologist – were all so professional and amazing but oh my goodness I think it was the hardest thing either Kevin or I have ever done to send our baby back to the sterile surgery environment section. The surgery was definitely best case scenario –  a closed reduction. They made a small incision to cut a tendon but it was a primarily un-invasive procedure, for which we are very thankful. The nurse kept us updated from the OR through the process and the surgeon came out to talk to us when he was done and we were happy with the degree of confidence he had in the result of the procedure.
  3. Ava’s recovery and our adjustment is only three days in but we’re doing well overall. Ava gets frustrated with her lack of mobility and has asked us a few times to let her “out” of the cast or for us to put her down to walk. It breaks my heart to see her confused and frustrated. We think we are managing the pain well and we’re learning as we go. It’ll be a long 12 weeks in the cast and then the unknown of what will follow (brace for probably 12 months and the continued uncertainty of everything in that hip area staying in place, etc.) but one day at a time, one day at a time.
  4. We still know that we did the right thing with this surgery. Without intervention, Ava would have likely had arthritis by age 15 and needed a total hip replacement by age 30. But it is still hard in the moment to see her so immobilized.

Sustenance:

  1. We made these tomato-basil fish packets on the grill and they were really good.  We’re definitely going to try other variations of veggies with white fish.  Salmon packets or shrimp packets would be great too.  So many possibilities!  Perfect for summer!
  2. I made these 2-ingredient fro-yo bites as a dessert option for myself since I’m trying to really limit my sugar.  I did Oikos Triple Zero vanilla Greek yogurt with raspberries and I think they’re good.  They also made excellent little popsicles for Ava.
  3. Kevin loves this sauce which is a staple in Costa Rica, so we ordered some on Amazon and made this Costa Rican arroz con pollo.  It was very good and easy.

How was your June?

4 thoughts on “That’s a wrap {June}.

  1. “I Stand Here” is so good! I’m so glad it has been a blessing to you lately, friend!

    I’m so glad that the bathroom reno is finished and that you are loving it! And hooray for prenatal yoga. I’ve just been doing the videos at home, but they seem to help with the round ligament pain.

    I love Owen’s name! Such a good one! And that his middle name is after his daddy. That is super sweet. As soon as Christopher and I knew for sure that Baby Vendetti was a girl (so you know, around 10 weeks), we looked through the list of favorite girl names we had and picked our top favorites and really were pretty sure we had the name we wanted almost immediately. But we kept thinking that we should give it time and look through baby name books and make sure there weren’t any other awesome names we were missing. So it wasn’t until 19 weeks (just after the anatomy scan in fact) when we officially picked her name. And sure enough, it was the name we thought it would be from the beginning. But there’s something to be said about waiting a bit just to make sure you really do love it most. :)

    I think you and Kevin are both so wise to step away from outside commitments right now as you focus on your family. There are so many seasons to life and this one just seems like it needs a little more care and attention at home. And praise God for such a successful surgery! What an answer to prayer! I will definitely continue to pray for you guys during this healing process!

    Um, yes, please. I would like those raspberry bites right now! I’m absolutely going to make those! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m continuing to pray for Ava and you and Kevin as you go through this journey. One day at a time. Such a good way to look at it.

    I’m glad your master bath renovation is complete! I hope to see pictures :)

  3. I’m glad that the surgery went well! I can’t imagine how difficult it was emotionally to watch your little girl go through that! Thank goodness for family and friends!

    I LOVE the name Owen! That was one on my favorite list for Jake, but Justin had some weird opposition to first names that also sound like last names, so it never became a real contender. I was sure you were going to go the cutesy route and do Ava and Aiden or something like that, but Owen is perfect!

    And you’ve just reminded me to put Jane Austen on my reading list! That title is one that I haven’t read yet for some reason.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

