That’s a wrap {April}.

 

Links to Love:

  1. I’m a birth devotee per this childbirth quiz.  I knew my love of birth stories would pay off big someday.
  2. This is inspiring. The first woman to run the Boston Marathon ran it again this year at age 70.
  3. Continuing with women in sports….  The kicker is my favorite on any football team.  {Unless it’s the Seattle Seahawks because I heart Russell Wilson.  But that’s another story.}  I loved this article about a high school senior making history when she received a scholarship to play football (position:  kicker) at a Division 1 school.
  4. This Heineken commercial is awesome.

Making Memories:

  1. April 7th marked the 7th anniversary of mine and Kevin’s first date!  We celebrated by going back to Jasmine, the Thai restaurant we went to on 4/7/2010.  I just love the life we have built together and I am so, so grateful for him.  Here’s the first date story if you’re interested.
  2. After our pre-Easter Saturday plans didn’t work out (see Challenges below), we capitalized on the open Saturday afternoon to go down to Honda and Kevin traded in his truck for a Pilot!  He loves it so much and it just fits our current stage of life so much better.  There was no way two carseats were going to fit in the Tacoma (we tried and he couldn’t even get his legs in the truck because the seat was so far forward) and he traded it in at a point that really maximized its trade in value.
  3. We had a few playdates with a few friends through the month.  It’s always fun to see our friends being parents.  We’re surrounded by such good people!
  4. I had a couple of Junior League workshifts to attend in April.  Nothing liking waiting until the last minute to fulfill those obligations.

Bookish:

  1. I’m still currently reading Team of Rivals and Sense and Sensibility.  These monthly updates make me feel like it takes forever to read some of these longer books, and maybe it does.  But I really am making progress on each!  I recently started re-reading the fourth Harry Potter as well.
  2. The only book I finished in April was The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines.  I listened to this one on Audible and I really enjoyed it!  It’s narrated by the couple which was very appealing.  I rated it four stars.
  3. Kevin finished The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 in April and rated it five stars.  He said it was really, really well researched and written.  Now he’s reading American Lion, which is about Andrew Jackson.
  4. We still have a lot to listen to in David Sedaris’ Me Talk Pretty One Day, but it’s really funny thus far.
  5. Ava’s favorite book is currently Ten Wriggly Wiggly Caterpillars.

Challenges:

  1. On the Saturday before Easter we loaded up into the car, started our David Sedaris book playing on Audible, and headed north to join my family Easter celebration for the day.  About 30 minutes into our three hour drive, Ava started fussing, which is pretty uncommon for her when she’s in the car seat.  I sat up, craned my neck, and looked down to check on her – just in time to see puke flowing out of her little mouth.  Ugh.  So much puke.  Her breakfast was…colorful coming back up.  And it didn’t smell too great.  Kevin pulled over and we cleaned up our poor baby as best we could.  We put her in the one change of clothes we carry in the diaper bag.  She was crying hysterically and we were all in agreement that the best course of action was to turn around and head straight home.  While it was sad to miss out on the family time, I’m glad we did what we did, because it would have been a miserable day if we’d kept on with the drive.  We still don’t know what was wrong.  Maybe her breakfast didn’t sit right?  Maybe she got car sick (she’s fine on swings and slides and has never shown an issue with being in the car before, so I’m really hoping she isn’t becoming prone to motion sickness)?  She seemed fine the rest of the day!  Especially after a nice bath.
  2. While I cannot complain about how this pregnancy is going because I’ve had it pretty easy, I did have one bout of pregnancy symptom – er – challenges in April.  I’ll just leave it at that and say I’m glad it seems to have passed and I’m going to very diligent about eating well and taking care of myself from this point forward.
  3. We’re starting to really plan out our master bath renovation and finding the stuff and making it all fit together has been a bit of a challenge.  I think we know what we want to accomplish, but gosh, there are a lot of pieces that need to come together to make it happen.  Our plan was to have the work done in May, but we’ll see if we need to push it to June.
  4. The weather was warm and we thought winter was behind us so we called our regular HVAC guy to come turn off the furnaces and turn on the swamp coolers.  Then a week later the temperatures dropped and it got down into the thirties overnight!  Sooooo cold.  Ava refuses to sleep with a blanket on her so I worried all night that she was going to get too cold.  Fortunately I think we all survived fine and the temps are rising again.  Hopefully we’re in the clear.

Sustenance:

  1. These slow cooker beef gyros were really, really good.  Possibly one of the best slow cooker meals we’ve ever had.  I set up a bowl of chopped tomatoes, some feta cheese, sautéed onions (because I forgot to add the onions to the slow cooker with the beef stew meat – oops, but it worked out fine and dare I say, the sautéed onions may have been better than crock pot onions?), the beef, and the tzaitki sauce on the table, heated up a couple of pieces of pita bread, and we built our own gyros.  They were excellent – I highly recommend this recipe.  We made it twice in April and the second time wasn’t quite as good – I think I let the meat cook for too long in the slow cooker.
  2. Umm, I think that’s the only new recipe we tried in April….  We stuck to regular favorites.
  3. I’ve been very into sushi recently and while I can’t have some of my regular favorite rolls because they have raw fish, an avocado roll and California roll will do in a pinch.  Something about the texture is just so appealing to me recently.
  4. I’ve also become obsessed with the Duke City Ruben sandwich served at Bocadillo’s (it was on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives once and the owner was on Chopped!  Spoiler alert:  she won!).  I think I ate that sandwich three times in April.

How was your April?

6 thoughts on “That’s a wrap {April}.

  1. I’m a birth devotee, too! I’m guessing that’s thanks to the number of birth stories I’ve read and all the books I’m reading trying to prepare myself, haha!

    That Heineken commercial is so good!!

    Awww, happy 7 year anniversary of your first date!! I love that you celebrate that too! :)

    I read the Magnolia Story this year and it was cute! I enjoyed getting a look behind the curtain at their story. I bet the audio book was even more fun since you got to hear them talking!

    I so hope the rest of this pregnancy is smooth sailing for you!!

    I’m excited to hear more about your master bath renovation as you do it! So fun! :)

    Sushi has been one thing I’ve craved a lot this pregnancy! Avocado rolls and California rolls being two of my go-to ones as well since my favorite raw ones aren’t an option at the moment. I loved sushi before being pregnant and we ate it pretty regularly, but we have eaten it even more since this pregnancy began. I’m not sure what it is about sushi that appeals to me so much, but even when I felt pretty sick I was still able to eat it. :)

  2. So I can relate to your puke story. On our last visit to Texas, R threw up her breakfast (swedish pancakes and strawberries in case you were wondering) about 20 minutes into our 3-hour drive home. Except we weren’t going back to my parents’, so we pulled off, cleaned her up, and kept going. I am positive she just ate too much for breakfast and got in the car too soon after eating. She’s gotten carsick a few times now. Anyway, good times! We had to clean out the vomit when we got home, but she was fine the rest of the drive and day! Kids, man.

  3. I love seeing what you guys are up to! Our Easter was also a little bit ruined by sickness. Jake had the flu and then I started throwing up Easter night and it was seriously like 5-6 days before I stopped feeling nauseous and started feeling better. Teddy threw up once randomly (kinda like Ava?) but seemed fine afterward. Who knows? But I’m so glad we’re all back to normal. Taking care of kids while feeling nauseous is the worst.

    I would be interested to read the Magnolia Story! I am kinda obsessed with Fixer Upper (and now Hometown is my new favorite, too). I’m so sad that they’re getting sued! I hate to see them (hopefully unfairly) cast in a negative light.

  4. I am so pumped to go take that childbirth quiz, haha. I am a birth junkie. So sorry about Ava getting sick in the car. Not fun at all, but I’m glad that it seemed to be an isolated incident! I love that you included her current favorite book :)

    Now I want some beef gyros and sushi!

  5. I really enjoy these posts! It’s so fun to hear how your days are going!
    Ugh. It’s only been one year since giving birth, but I didn’t do so well on the quiz:P Oh well, I guess I can always learn it all again if I need to:D
    We totally need to remodel our bathrooms, but I just don’t want to…house projects are so intrusive! I’m thinking maybe we’ll just move and then someone else can have these outdated bathrooms!

  6. Happy 7th first date anniversary! I re-read the story of how you met, it’s so cute. “You should go for him!”
    A couple hours later: “Oops, I’ll take it back”. Love it! You seem very in tune with each other, you were clearly meant to be!
    I could eat sushi all day every day, I completely understand your cravings. In fact, we had sushi for lunch today – I had a rainbow roll. So delicious!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

