An official announcement.

She’s all smiles but has no idea her little only child world is going to be rocked this autumn.

We’re due October 12.  I kind of have it in my head that the baby will come in September and I probably just jinxed myself by typing that out and will be banished to 41+ weeks or something.  But Ava was early (evicted, you may recall – part 1 / part 2), and my doctor is highly unlikely to let me go past 40 weeks because that’s just how he rolls, so early October or late September it will likely be, God willing.

We found out on Valentine’s Day.  I decided to take a test before downing my Moscato – just in case – and good thing I did.  Pregnant.

It helped explain the roller coaster emotions I’d been demonstrating, much to my (and Kevin’s – poor guy) relief.

Overall I can’t complain BUT I will say I feel like I’ve been more nauseous this time than I was with Ava.  It may just be that I can’t lounge around like I did during the first pregnancy.  Ava isn’t one to allow lounging.  I’ve also been more fatigued, but again – fewer daytime naps may be contributing to that.

I’ve been so much more chill with this second pregnancy.  Less worried about every little ache and pain.  Less anxiety over all the things that could go wrong.  Don’t get me wrong – I catalogued all the pregnancy don’ts I’d blissfully done in those first few precious weeks between not knowing and knowing, like the good little Type A personality I am.  Lunchmeat!  Hot baths!  Caffeine!  But then I released the worry around them because there was no going back and all I can do is hope for the best.  Since then I’ve been more relaxed in what I eat (Dion’s sandwiches – toasted, but all the same – I never would have touched those in the first pregnancy; and steak, cooked to medium instead of charred), but trying to make good decisions.

So far we’ve had two doctor appointments (my weight is down a pound between week 8 and week 12 – celebrate those first trimester victories, hashtag party emoji) , two ultrasounds (all looks good!  Blessings galore.), genetic testing (all looks good!  Blessings galore.), and we opted to find out the gender with the blood work.  It’s a….

:)

Any gender guesses?

10 thoughts on “An official announcement.

  1. Oh, this is so EXCITING! I’m hoping you’ll have a boy, and then you’ll have one of each! I can’t wait to find out! And I’ll delay giving you all the foreboding “enjoy-having-an-only-child-while-it-lasts” warnings, muahaha! I’m sure someone else will step in and do the honors anyway. ;-)

  2. Congratulations! Excited to have stumbled across your blog. Was the picture of you and Amy in your March wrap-up post taken inside of a Dion’s? That lattice looks familiar.
    We would love to help satisfy your pregnancy cravings for a toasted sub. Will you email me at BHobbs@dions.com and give me your mailing address? Thank you!
    -Brianna

  3. I’m guessing girl! 🎀
    Congratulations, I’m so happy for you!! Here’s hoping that your nausea and fatigue will be a thing of the past asap.
    And that Ava will be happy about her role as a big sister!

  4. AHHH!! I wondered if you knew when you texted the other day, but didn’t want to ask in case you weren’t sharing yet. And sure enough… you know!! Ah! I’m so excited to find out! My gut feeling is girl, but that may just be because I’m pregnant with a girl right now, haha! ;)

    I’m glad you are giving yourself grace for those early weeks when you didn’t know. I had two friends who found out they were pregnant halfway through their pregnancies (one at 19 weeks and one at 21 weeks) and both of them had definitely done LOTS of pregnancy no-nos and both of their babies were totally fine. That’s what I always try to remind myself if I feel myself starting to get anxious about whether or not something I ate or did was okay. I’ve had several friends who ate raw sushi and unheated sandwich meat all through their pregnancies and their babies were fine. I’m a little too Type A to be that loose with it, but I try not to give myself a hard time if I find out later something I ate/did isn’t the optimum for Baby.

    Aaaaanyway, I am just so excited for you guys! I And I love that we will have babies so close in age! How fun will that be! :)

  5. I am so, so happy for you, Kevin, and Ava! When I first read this, my guess was another girl, but now I see from a future post that I was wrong, lol! I think I just imagined you with another girl because you have Ava, if that makes sense?! Anyways, congrats!!

    I’m glad to hear you’ve been relaxed in this pregnancy! That has to be good for the baby!

  6. Pingback: The second bambino – a pregnancy update. – A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

