Snapshot {November}.

img_0011

Making: Good use of nap time – even if it’s not as I planned. I had the best of intentions to make a turkey pot pie for lunch while Ava slumbered peacefully in her crib. But alas, she acts as though I am placing her gently into boiling lava when I attempt to move the little sleeper from my arms. So I was faced with a choice – pot pie and no nap…or an indulgent cuddle nap and no pot pie. I chose the nap, so here I sit, sleeping baby weight on me and I’m using the time to do this blog post. I can’t say I’m disappointed in my choice.

Cooking: The meal plan this week was as follows:  Monday – lemon chicken picata with roasted kale and brussels sprouts; Tuesday – spicy tomato garlic shrimp with spaghetti squash; today – roasted chicken thighs and sweet potatoes; Thursday – green chile and beef enchilada casserole and pinto beans; and Friday – we’ll likely pick up Dion’s or Flying Star. I’ll throw together the aforementioned turkey pot pie (using turkey my mother in law roasted yesterday) at some point and it will be good for lunches.

Drinking: Water.  I’ve felt soooo much better since I gave up my (average of) twice a week peppermint mocha, so I know I need to be strong and keep avoiding.  But I did give in and drink one yesterday so… It’s a dangerous course to give in for “just one” – wish me luck.

img_9639

Reading: So many books going!  Team of Rivals (which I’ll be working on for a long time), Jane Eyre (re-reading it on my phone while Ava nurses/cuddle naps because classics are free and it has been about 9 years since I last read it!), A Gentleman in Moscow (good, but not nearly as interesting to me as Rules of Civility – by the same author), Love the One You’re With (listening to it on Audible as I drive around town – an easy listen), and lastly, Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim (one that Kevin and I listened to on our way to and from Thanksgiving at my family’s place about an hour and a half south of where we live.  It is funny and had us cracking up a lot on the drive!  Now we’re listening to it in smaller increments as we drive to grocery shop, etc.).

Wanting: Some clarity on a few personal changes I’ve been considering. Nothing I can talk about now (hello, vague) but I’ll update you as I can.

img_9701

Looking: At the path of toys and books Hurricane Ava has left in her wake.  Confession:  I actually enjoying picking everything up at the end of the day, placing each item in its correct place, and leaving a clean canvas for her to play upon the following day.  I time myself and there’s a sense of instant gratification. Messy to neat in 1.75 minutes.

Eating: Nothing now. Lunch when Ava awakes – I’ll likely ask Kevin to bring me something. Or eat leftover chicken piccata.

 Wishing: That I was always this patient and accepting of thwarted crib naps. Some days I feel so overwhelmed with all the stuff I need to be doing while Ava is sleeping. Some days I’m convinced that it’s because we’ve allowed cuddle naps that she won’t crib nap consistently well and some days I’m certain that the cuddle nap on that particular day is going to be THE indulgence that turns her into a bad sleeper. Today I don’t care. Today I’m just thankful that I have a schedule that allows me to hold her while she naps and today I’m appreciative of this stage because someday she won’t want to let me hold her for an hour and a half and that will be sad.

img_1150

Enjoying: Hot lemon honey water each evening with Kevin.  It’s so soothing and a lovely way to end the day.

Loving: This phase with Ava. She is seriously so fun at 13 months. I count myself lucky to be her sidekick. Her newest thing? “Ava,what does a snake say?” And she responds with, “Sssssssssss!” She’s also started blowing on her food when it’s warm and she’s so good at using a spoon and fork (pre-loaded but I think it will click soon that she can be her own master spear’er of food). She is pushing her little push toy around and transitioning from one piece of furniture to another but still prefers crawling and hasn’t taken independent steps. I stumbled across this article and thought it was interesting – fits Ava completely. She has such a cautious, easy temperament – it’s not surprising that she’s a later than average walker.

Hoping: The thyroid medicine we started Kiki on yesterday works well for her. She is such a sweet cat. I want her to be healthy forever.

img_9678

Needing: To do a blog post about my October Stitch Fix box.  Maybe I’ll just wait and combine it with the scheduled January box.  I think I’ve also got an item or two through Trunk Club that I haven’t posted about…..

Smelling: Fresh laundry scent from the baby passed out on top of me.

Feeling: Super proud of myself – I am done with my Christmas shopping.  It’s self preservation really – I can’t stand the crowds and chaos and stress that comes with shopping closer to the holiday.  It’s such a relief to be done.

img_9729

Wearing: Jeans and a sweater. Cozy socks and house shoes.

Watching: Gilmore Girls.  I’m on the last few episodes of the seventh season and then I’ll start the newly released Netflix version.  I want to get caught up on the PBS Anne series this weekend too!

What are you wishing/needing/loving/eating right now?

7 thoughts on “Snapshot {November}.

  1. Oh cuddle naps….I to have give. in to one to many and spoiled my son for life. Hahahaha. But really, I totally get the struggle. I’m still there, but I know the time I have to cuddle him for naps is fleeting so I try hard not to mind. It’s so hard! Also your weekly meals sound so delicious. Oh my goodness, yum!!!!

  2. There aren’t 15-year-olds who still cuddle nap with their moms, so I think you’re okay :) When I happen to be home during R’s naptime (not often but sometimes on a day off!) I like to hold her, but after 15 minutes or so, I put her down because I know she will sleep better and longer in her crib. I don’t think there’s a right or wrong… just whatever you want to do since you’re her mom! :) Great picture of the three of you!

  3. Blogging during cuddle naps are way better than chicken pot pie anyway. ;) Hopefully Ava will decide she likes her crib a little more eventually! :)

    Aww, I love when toddlers blow on their food before eating it. They are just so tiny and cute!

    Good for you for being done with Christmas shopping! I’m nearly done! I do the majority of it online to avoid crowded stores. :)

    I’m just about halfway through with season 5 of Gilmore Girls. I keep seeing people talking about the new episodes and I keep having to look away! So far I haven’t seen any spoilers (or even opinions about it). I want to walk into it with no expectations. :) We’ll see if I make it through the end of season 7 before I hear anything about the new ones!

  4. Gosh, I can’t believe you’re done with your Christmas shopping. I’m jealous! I can’t stand the mall crowds either, so I’ll go the online route (again) this year. So grateful for online shopping!
    That picture of Kiki is amazing, I love her expression and how you caught her in the moment. Great job!

  5. Aww, I hope Kiki stays healthy! I’m glad she has awesome fur-parents to take care of her.

    I think cuddle naps sound amazing. You have good perspective on them, it’s not a forever thing that you’ll be able to cuddle your baby so why not indulge and enjoy :)

    I think I need to come to your house for dinner, haha. Everything you have planned sounds delicious.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

