Cat-proofing.

Our little one has really been adventurous lately.  She’s opening drawers and cabinet doors.  She has been committed to exploring new heights.  She manages to squeeze her way into tight spaces.  Her little legs carry her down the stairs at a dangerous speed.

Naturally, I’m not talking about our 8 month old baby.

No, it’s the two year old black cat who has been giving us a crash course in baby/cat-proofing the house.  Rue has always been one to push the limits and see what she can get away with, but recently she’s been especially feisty.  We love her cattitude and that she keeps us on our toes.

Her most recent discovery was the Jacuzzi tub motor set up under the tub in our bathroom.  Our master bath is the final major house renovation project and we probably won’t get to it until next year.  At that time, we plan to take out the tub altogether and replace our little dinky shower with a big shower instead.  {Our thought is that people are more interested in nice showers than tubs these days.  As long as there is a tub in the house, it should be fine.  Any thoughts on maximizing real estate resale value on bathroom renos?}  In the meantime, we’ll have to make do with our dated bathroom…and duct tape over the already tacky door that hides the tub mechanics.  Rue was, after all, not deterred by the baby tub that I placed in front of the space (not a practical solution anyway since I need to stand in that space at least twice a day).

image

image

image

I used the mustache duct tape, so…it’s classy, right?

Have you had any adventures in pet-proofing or baby-proofing your space?

7 thoughts on “Cat-proofing.

  1. Hahaha! Oh Rue! You are incorrigible in the best way! ;)

    Also, I look forward to hearing about your bathroom reno next year! That’s one that we still haven’t tackled yet so I have no real advice for you there, but I’m excited to see what you guys do! :)

  2. My cat is so big and lazy, I rarely have to cat proof anything. I just have to make sure that the pantry door is COMPLETELY closed and latched, because he is a hungry guy. ;-) Jake hasn’t been awful about getting into things, but Teddy may be another story! We’ll have to wait and see. My friend has a daughter around Jake’s age, and she apparently stuck her finger in an electrical socket, even though they had proofed all of the sockets. She pulled out a plug for a lamp and jammed her little finger right in there. This same friend also has FOUR kids, so I’m sure it’s difficult to keep an eye on everyone all the time.

  3. We did just one huge shower in our bathroom thinking the same thing you did. We LOVE it and people ooh and awe when they see the shower!

  4. Oh Rue, you stole my heart. Is there anything better than animals or kids with a unique personality?
    I love that you managed to snap a photo of her walking into that little space, like it’s the most natural thing in the world. What a little rascal!

  5. Hahaha, I love Rue!! When I lived with my parents, their one black cat (Felix!) LOVED to chew cords to laptops and phone chargers. We couldn’t have any cords out when he was around or else it would be gonzo.

    I love your duct tape solution. I would totally be like you and put a random baby tub (or other item) in front of the space I need to access twice a day, haha. I’m glad I’m not the only one ;).

    Also, I can’t wait to see/hear about your bathroom renovation if you blog about it next year!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

