2016 Reading Challenge – halfway point check in.

image

The 2016 Reading Challenge progress update!

Allow me to begin with Ava’s current book total – she has had her staff read her 318 books since her birth.  My old high school does a “1000 Books Before Kindergarten” program, and Ava is signed up for that.  She gets a sticker and a free book for every 100 books she reads.  Thus far her reading efforts have added a Llama Llama (our favorite series) book and a Clifford book.  Her favorite type of book is still a board book which has thick bulky pages that she can chew on, and she’s pretty patient when we read her books too!  I love that reading to her exposes her to vocabulary that she may not hear in everyday conversation.  And she’s currently in the mental developmental leap of Categories, so it’s fun to incorporate that too:  cat in the book, real life cat sitting next to her on the floor, cat on her pajamas, etc.  We recently heard from a friend that research has shown it is just as important for babies Ava’s age to SEE their parents or caregivers reading as it is for them to be read to in general.  They are little sponges and want to copy what they see adults doing, so it makes sense that in order for us to encourage a love of reading in our child, we must show her that we love reading.  Twist my arm, I’ll sit next to her while she plays and read my book for a few minutes each day.  :)

Now on to my reading progress…  Here are the categories and the book(s) I’ve read for each:

A book published this year.

A book you can finish in a day.
Polish Your Poise with Madame Chic:  Lessons in Everyday Elegance by Jennifer L. Scott – 4 stars
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – 4 stars

A book you’ve been meaning to read.

A book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller.

A book you should have read in school.

A book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF.
Blood and Thunder by Hampton Sides – 5 stars

A book published before you were born.
Rainbow Valley by L.M. Montgomery – 4 stars 

A book that was banned at some point.

A book that you previously abandoned.
The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton – 4 stars

A book you own but have never read.
Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery – 5 stars

A book that intimidates you. 

A book you’ve already read at least once.

There are also a few books I’ve read that don’t fit into a category.  They are:

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead – 4 stars
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – 3 stars
We Never Asked for Wings by Vanessa Diffenbaugh – 4 stars
After You by Jojo Moyes – 3 stars
Baby Led Weaning: Helping Your Baby to Love Good Food by Gill Rapley – 4 stars
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd – 4 stars
Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – 5 stars
Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner – 4 stars

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – 3 stars

And to not leave Kevin out of this reading update, I’m not sure of his exact count on books, but he has read quite a few this year.  He has been into business and leadership books recently, which I think he’s really enjoying.  We listened to Jim Gaffigan’s Dad Is Fat on our way to and from the family reunion this past weekend – almost done with it so we’ll listen to it in snippets as we run errands, etc.  It’s pretty funny!

How are you doing on your 2016 reading goals?  If you listen to an audiobook, do you consider it a book that you have read?

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge – halfway point check in.

  1. I’ve heard that before too about how important it is for children to see their parents reading! My mom read all the time when we were growing up and of the five of us kids, four of us are big readers! Maybe that’s just correlation and not causation, but I think it’s worth considering! :)

    I don’t listen to audio books very often. It’s not that I’m opposed to them, I just forget to download them before we travel, haha! So usually we listen to music or chat during road trips. But with that said, I would totally count an audio book as a book I’ve “read”. I mean, the content is now in my brain – that definitely counts. ;)

  2. Astonish Me is such a great read! I was just fascinated by the whole ballerina “world” and the plot twist at the end of the book! Also, the Llama Llama books are adorable. The family I work for has two young kids, and when I clean their rooms, I love when they leave the Llama Llama books out. I always peek at them, haha.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

