In summation – 20 items, 21 days.

I tried out a capsule wardrobe for three weeks (more about that here), and here’s what I learned.

  • Getting dressed is really easy when there are such limited options.
  • It’s also very boring.  I am so excited to get back into my closet.
  • It was easier than I thought it would be to not repeat outfits.  I don’t think I wore the exact same combination of items a single time. I was also surprised at how few times I actually wore each item. Most shirts were only worn twice. It felt like more!
  • Capsule wardrobes are not my jam.  I’ll try my best to keep the stuff I don’t wear or that doesn’t fit culled so the closet is a manageable size and doesn’t threaten to swallow me each morning as I take it on…but I am not interested in doing the capsule thing long term.

And because I like data… Here’s the breakdown of how often I wore each item:

2 dresses
– Black and white striped – worn 2 times
– Navy blue – worn 0 times.  I actually never wore this because it is not nursing friendly and it would have just been really inconvenient.  I probably could have subbed in a different item but I just never got around to doing so.
3 pair of jeans
– Black skinny – worn 6 times
– Blue denim skinny – worn 9 times
– Purple skinny – worn 4 times 
3 cardigans
– Patterned – worn 3 times 
– Navy blue – worn 2 times
– Maroon – worn 2 times
4  pair of shoes
– Grey boots – worn 4 times 
– Brown boots – worn 3 times
– Black flats – worn 5 times
– Brown loafer flats – worn 9 times
8 tops
– Grey t-shirt – worn 5 times
– Purple Soothe Shirt tank – worn 2 times
– Grey, black, & white raglan stripes – worn 2 times
– Patterned short sleeve blouse – worn 2 times
– Green long sleeve button up – worn 3 times
– Dark chambray long sleeve tunic – worn 2 times 
– Red plaid long sleeve flannel button up – worn 2 times
– Blue plaid long sleeve tunic -worn 3 times

And here are a few of the outfit combos, in all their photogenic glory:

img_3875
image

6 thoughts on “In summation – 20 items, 21 days.

  1. I’m really impressed with you! I think this would be a really hard challenge for me. You made so many cute outfits with so few items. And I’m impressed that you stuck with it even when it got boring. I feel like that would be about the time I’d call it quits, haha! Well done, friend!

  2. You did awesome! I wouldn’t think that you were wearing a capsule wardrobe, your outfits are so versatile. But I agree with you, a permanent capsule wardrobe wouldn’t be right for me, either. I like wearing lots of different clothes. Variety is the spice of life!

  3. You did awesome at not repeating any outfits! All of your piece are so versatile. I feel like I’m doing this accidentally by being pregnant – only a few things fit haha. It definitely makes getting dressed easier, but I miss all my choices!

  4. I love that you took a picture of every outfit to really show what your experience was like! You’re really creative with your style and I think you rocked this challenge!

  5. Your outfits look so good! They’re not terribly repetitive like I would have thought. I feel like I’m living the capsule wardrobe lately because I’m stuck in maternity clothes. . .it’s hard to be creative when you only have a handful of items! On Mar 2, 2016 12:24 PM, “A Desert Girl” wrote:

    > Amy @ A Desert Girl posted: “I tried out a capsule wardrobe for three > weeks (more about that here), and here’s what I learned. Getting dressed is > really easy when there are such limited options. It’s also very boring. I > am so excited to get back into my closet. It was easie” >

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

