20 items, 21 days.

I decided to do a mini-capsule-wardrobe challenge suggested by Paige at Style This Life.  (Found her originally thanks to a real life friend, Britt at The Fisk Files!)  Choose 20 wardrobe items (including shoes but not including workout gear, pajamas, accessories, jewelry, etc.) and wear only those 20 items for 21 days – from February 8 to February 28.  I love the idea of a capsule wardrobe but I am not sure I can commit to one fully.  This temporary challenge seemed like a great opportunity to give it a try!  There’s an expiration date – I work very well with expiration dates.

I told Britt that I was going to try it and she said she would too.  It’s always more fun to do this kind of thing with friends.  (Like the #fmsphotoaday photo a day challenge.  I’m doing that again this year on Instagram and have four friends who are also doing it.  It makes me feel closer to them somehow, that we’re in it together.)

So I chose my 20 items.  The breakdown is as follows:

2 dresses
– Black and white striped
– Navy blue
3 pair of jeans
– Black skinny
– Blue denim skinny
– Purple skinny
3 cardigans
– Patterned
– Navy blue
– Maroon
4  pair of shoes
– Grey boots
– Brown boots
– Black flats
– Brown loafer flats
8 tops
– Grey t-shirt
– Purple Soothe Shirt tank
– Grey, black, & white raglan stripes
– Patterned short sleeve blouse
– Green long sleeve button up
– Dark chambray long sleeve tunic
– Red plaid long sleeve flannel button up
– Blue plaid long sleeve tunic

img_3813

I’m pretty happy with my selections – we’ll see if they stand the test of time.  (“Time” being 3 weeks, so…maybe that sentence is a little melodramatic.)  All the clothes – minus shoes – fit in one drawer.  If I decide to take on a capsule wardrobe full time, Kevin could stand to gain a LOT of drawer and closet space.  ;-)

Have you ever done a capsule wardrobe?  Have you ever done a wardrobe challenge of any kind?  What style of clothes do you wear most often?

9 thoughts on “20 items, 21 days.

  1. I’ve never done this while at home, but I totally do this all the time when we travel. Whether it’s just a few days away and I’m trying to making one pair of shoes and two pairs of pants be able to mix and match with a few tops or when we go on longer trips where I’m packing for a couple of weeks (in which case my choices look similar to yours!). I love that you are doing this. It takes the guesswork out of getting ready which must be so nice when you’ve got so much on your mind right now!

    Though as a side note… I could have never done this when Mallory was a baby. I changed my clothes at least once a day because she spit up so much. Is Ava not the spit-up type? Because if so, luuuuucky! ;)

  2. I’ve never done a wardrobe challenge but this is fun! I’m interested to know how it goes for you. I feel like I often end up rotating the same pieces and do an unintentional capsule wardrobe half the time!

  3. This is awesome! I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you! I have thought about doing a capsule wardrobe. I recently donated a bunch of clothes that I grew out of/don’t wear, so now my wardrobe is small, but not that small. I think this would be a fun challenge for me to try some time! As for what clothes I wear, since I don’t work in a professional setting I wear yoga pants and jeans a lot, t-shirts, hoodies, and then dresses or dress pants on Sundays!

  4. I loooooove this idea! I’ve been tempted to do a capsule wardrobe for forevvvvvver but I can’t commit! This is a great in btwn :)
    P.s. you have great variety in your wardrobe, I’m soo jealous!
    -Linds

  5. Pingback: Snapshot {February}. – A Desert Girl

  6. Pingback: In summation – 20 items, 21 days. – A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

