2016 reading challenge. 

image

The 2016 Reading Challenge is not nearly as intense as last year’s.  Here are the categories:

A book published this year.

A book you can finish in a day.

A book you’ve been meaning to read.

A book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller.

A book you should have read in school.

A book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF.

A book published before you were born.

A book that was banned at some point.

A book that you previously abandoned.

A book you own but have never read.

A book that intimidates you.

A book you’ve already read at least once.

I’m excited for the challenge and I think it is very manageable – only 12 books, one of which has to be read in a day.  Anyone want to play along?? 

There is another reading challenge underway in our household.  Ava is participating in a 1000 Books Before Kindergarten program that the library at my old school has organized.  Kevin and I have been reading to her at least a few times a week.  She has no shortage of books – my mom (a librarian) has been keeping a database of all the books in Ava’s personal library.  I think we’re up to nearly 200 books!

What are your reading goals for 2016?

6 thoughts on “2016 reading challenge. 

  1. This looks like a neat challenge! I MIIIIIGHT participate, but I probably wouldn’t get into the reading until summer time. But if I do, I’ll post what I’m reading!

    In the state of Tennessee, Dolly Parton has started the “Imagination Library,” and she basically sends any Tennessee child a book every month for the first five years of their life for FREE. It’s pretty neat! We’ve bought Jake books (we just recently bought him a book about becoming a big brother) and relatives have given us books, of course, but no one has contributed to Jake’s personal library quite like Dolly! :-)

    On Fri, Jan 22, 2016 at 9:47 AM, A Desert Girl wrote:

    > Amy @ A Desert Girl posted: ” The 2016 Reading Challenge is not nearly as > intense as last year’s. Here are the categories: A book published this > year. A book you can finish in a day. A book you’ve been meaning to read. A > book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller.” >

  2. This is much more manageable. Do you think the shorter list will still keep you interested and engaged?

    I can’t believe how many books Ava has! She has her own personal library! Please share some of your favorites some time!

  3. Hm, I set a goal of reading to Max every single day, but I’m not doing so well at it – we get a book done maybe every other day? That little guy is so wild and active that finding some sit-down-and-focus time is tricky. I’ll have to see if the library does any similar reading goal for littles — I like the idea of using that as a motivator.

  4. Love that you made more reading goals for this year and made them manageable (but still challenging!!) for you. I kind of backed off of reading as much this year, haha. My ultimate goal since 2011 was to hit 50 books, and once I did that in 2015 I was happy. This year I’m all about quality and enjoying every book, versus speeding through. I’ve got different things on my plate in life, too, so there will probably be less reading but hey, something is better than nothing :)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

