The Whole30 that wasn’t. 

IMG_0109

I was intent on starting a Whole30 on the day after my birthday.  Kevin was hesitant, but willing to take the challenge on after he thought about it a bit.  No sugar, no grains, no dairy, no legumes, among other things.  Basically no happiness.

Kevin got sick on my birthday and didn’t feel well the following day.  I cooked a Whole30 approved breakfast for myself and snacked on the carrots and celery that I’d so carefully prepared over the weekend.  Then Kevin’s mom brought over a big pot of chicken, rice, and dumplings soup, and I was like, “Whole30 will be there tomorrow….  I can’t let dumplings go to waste.”  So I was Whole30 compliant for one meal and one snack.

And we started talking about it. What did I hope to accomplish by taking on the Whole30?  I don’t think I have food sensitivities, so that wasn’t it.  Mainly, I guess, I just wanted a reset.  And to show I could do it.  And if I lost a few of the 10 lbs that are lingering around my thighs, hips, and midsection, well, that’s the icing (mmm, icing… Cake.).  But Kevin was very not excited about the 30 day challenge, and I didn’t have a noble or necessary reason for taking it on.  As I thought about it more, I started worrying about whether cutting out dairy and legumes (specifically peanuts) abruptly and then adding them back in after the 30 days while breastfeeding could raise the risk of Ava developing allergies to those things.  That’s probably never happened and not a risk at all, but mama’s gotta worry about something, so why not that?

So we came up with our own plan for January (no sweets, no pasta, no fried stuff, no fast food, no cokes, etc.) and decided to just do our best to remain righteous in our food decisions post-January.  It’s manageable and nearly sustainable as a lifestyle (sometimes a girl needs some pasta).  It was a good decision for us now.  Maybe I’ll do Whole30 in the future, just to prove I can.  But today…I’ll take some cheese, please.

Have you tried the Whole30?  Or any other cleanse or eating challenge?

6 thoughts on “The Whole30 that wasn’t. 

  1. Pssshhhh….I couldn’t do it. I briefly considered Nutri-System after I had Jake, just because I was trying to lose my extra weight. But Justin didn’t like the idea of eating cardboard (excuse me, cardboard BOXED) meals every day, so it would have been tough to stick to it all by myself. He’s been following a diet from a podcast he’s been listening to called the Fat-Burning Man. He cheated quite a bit over the holidays, but now he’s back on track. I briefly tried to join in last summer, but quickly lost my resolve once I started my job because they were providing free LUNCH every day. Dieting and exercise are hard!! I feel like I’m exempt from it now that I’m pregnant, but I’ll have to figure something out that I can stick to this summer after baby arrives.

    On Wed, Jan 20, 2016 at 9:40 AM, A Desert Girl wrote:

    > Amy @ A Desert Girl posted: ” I was intent on starting a Whole30 on the > day after my birthday. Kevin was hesitant, but willing to take the > challenge on after he thought about it a bit. No sugar, no grains, no > dairy, no legumes, among other things. Basically no happiness. K” >

  2. Haha it can be really tough to live without all those tasty things, but good for you for giving it a shot! I just recently started a new workout plan and I’ve been able to eat clean for a week. I’m hoping to keep it up and cut out most of the bad stuff I was eating before. It doesn’t mean you can’t indulge once in a while, but it’s good to take charge of what you are actually putting in your body and make more health conscious decisions!

  3. “That’s probably never happened and not a risk at all, but mama’s gotta worry about something, so why not that?” –> That made me lol! I am like that too–gotta worry about something!!

    I think you made a good choice to decide to eat in a way that works for you and is healthy and maybe will challenge you a bit for a month. I hear about the Whole 30 in Instagram a lot. I don’t think I could do it at all! You’re not alone :)

  4. I did a SUPER strict version of this called Paleo AIP which is supposed to help people with autoimmune issues (I have a thyroid one). It’s whole 30 but harder-no nuts, eggs or nightshades. It was hard but I felt so fantastic! I did it for about 40 days. I’m thinking about doing it again! It’s hard but once you start feeling different I think it’s worth it!

  5. So in general I find that my body appreciates a Paleo or Whole30-ish diet, but we eat at friends’ homes so frequently that it would be really difficult to stick to an “official diet”. Plus, this girl LOVES her pasta and pizza. So I’m a pretty big believer in moderation. ;) I think your January plan sounds great! How has that been?

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

