31 + a day.

img_2838

Yesterday was my 31st birthday!  It was a great day – lots of texts and phone calls and Facebook posts.  I am continually tempted to close down my Facebook, but there’s nothing quite like a birthday on the book of face to make a gal feel really loved.  Special are the birthday regards from the person that you had one class with during your sophomore year of college and haven’t spoken to since but for the annual wish for happiness on the day of birth.

But I digress.

I actually celebrated my birthday a few times over the weekend.  On Saturday, Kevin took me to dinner at Indigo Crow, my favorite restaurant.  We each had lobster ravioli and it was so delicious.  Kevin had bread pudding and I had key lime pie for dessert.  The atmosphere is always so warm and cozy too.  Ava slept in her carseat and we reflected on the year and the holidays and what we have planned for the future.  My husband is my absolute favorite person and I often mentally pinch myself to ensure I’m not dreaming him up.  On Sunday, Kevin’s parents took us to Pars, which is a Mediterranean restaurant that is a favorite.  Then we went to their house where we had a delicious homemade chocolate cake with buttercream frosting.

Yesterday was really nice too – Ava and I went to Model Pharmacy with my mother-in-law.  Model Pharmacy is an old fashioned soda shoppe (the ‘e’ is necessary to set the mood for the place) and sells really unique and special mobiles and I had requested one for Christmas to hang in Ava’s room.  I wasn’t very clear on which one I had in mind and so we had to do an exchange.    And since we were there, I had a peppermint mocha and Sue enjoyed a peppermint hot chocolate.  It was lovely.

img_2841

Kevin picked up our favorite sandwiches from a local place for lunch and we ate at home.  Then he went back to work.

img_2826

Ava and I did tummy time and smiled at each other.  I began to prep for taking on Whole30.  More about that some time soon.

Unfortunately Kevin wasn’t feeling very well, so he came home a little early and napped and then I started to feel not well out of sympathy for him I think.  We dined on Campbell’s Chicken Noodle soup for dinner.  It was maybe not the most glamorous birthday dinner, but just what we needed.

And that’s part of what being  in your 30’s is all about, right?  Making responsible decisions.  Doing what you need to do, even if it’s not the wild and crazy thing you would have done when you were a young 20-something whippersnapper.

I was never very wild or crazy, so the thirties and I will get along just fine.

In all seriousness, so far I think the decade is great.  At age 30 I celebrated my second wedding anniversary, traveled to Europe, learned and grew in my job, had a baby, laughed and cried with friends and family…  It was an awesome year.  I’m excited to take on 31.

What has been your favorite age?  What age do you look forward to reaching?

8 thoughts on “31 + a day.

  1. Happy belated birthday Amy! I have the exact same feelings about Facebook, but like you said, the birthday wishes are pretty special. It’s also amazing to get a random email once in a blue moon from someone you haven’t seen or talked to in ages. For these reasons alone I will probably hang on to it forever!
    The thirties are by far my favourite decade as well. I’ve turned 36 recently, and I gotta say, so far each year has been better than the last. I hope that trend will never stop!

  2. The 30’s have honestly been my favorite age so far. I feel as though I know who I am, and I’m better able to think ‘big picture’ instead of sweating the small stuff so much. (Not that I don’t ‘ever’ sweat the small stuff… ;) But you know, I’m getting better). I just feel as though I’m comfortable in my own skin now and much more confident than I was in my 20’s. So, yeah, I’ve loved the 30’s, and – so far – being 32 hasn’t let me down. :)
    So I loved absolutely everything about this post! :) I’m so glad that you had a special birthday!! And honestly, I’ve been obsessed with everything peppermint mocha lately!
    P.S. I have the same love / hate relationship with Facebook!

  3. THAT DANG LOBSTER RAVIOLI!!!! gah.

    Sounds like a fantastic birthday weekend, minus the not-feeling-well part.

    Sometimes I see you in Ava and sometimes Kevin. I guess that’s how it should be! What’s the family consensus though?

  4. I know just what you mean about the random FB posts! It’s always fun to know that people from way back when still think of you and want to wish you happy b-day!

    I just love the picture of you and Ava. So sweet. And your flannel shirt is adorable. I’m glad you could spend time with Kevin, your in-laws, and Ava. I also love that your husband is your favorite person. That’s a very, very good thing :). It’s the best to live with your favorite person (people?! Aka family!). You are going to rock your 30s. You’ve done a mighty fine job already and your only one year in!! You always impress me with all the things you do and your adventurous spirit.

    Happy belated 31st, Amy!

  5. Happy (very belated) 31st!! Sounds like it was a good day (minus the sickness…hope everyone’s feeling healthy now!) The fb post part made me giggle…”Special are the birthday regards from the person that you had one class with during your sophomore year of college and haven’t spoken to since but for the annual wish for happiness on the day of birth.” So true! Also, you and Ava are adorable.

  6. 30 was such a full year for you! Wow! I’m so excited to see what 31 will bring your way! :)

    Also, so glad to hear you had a great birthday weekend! I’m hoping Kevin is much better by now and that you guys all stay healthy! Sickness is no fun!

  7. I bet you will start feeling more grown up this year, if not because of being 31, just because of Ava. There’s nothing quite like being responsible for another human being that makes you feel like a REAL adult. 😉

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

