Project 12 // December.

Happy New Year! I hope your ’16 is especially sweet.

*Project 12 – A photo on (or around) the first day of each month.*
{Idea credit & linking up with  The Lady Okie}

December: 

image
^ Christmas Day family photo ^

Read:
The Royal We by Heather Cocks – 3 stars
The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella – 3 stars
The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty – 5 stars
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – 5 stars

Travel Adventures:
We didn’t leave the metro area in December!

Noteworthy Days & Events:
December 11 -Kevin’s 32 birthday!  We celebrated by going to Marcello’s Steakhouse with his parents.  Ava donned her fanciest clothes and was a little angel at the restaurant.  Celebrating Kevin is always so much fun because he’s just the best guy ever – he deserves to be loved on and adored, not just on his birthday but every day.
December 12 – Coach Carroll’s Christmas party.  Ava’s first Christmas party!  She was a hit and slept through most of it.  We indulged in the most delicious queso – a staple at the Carroll Christmas party.
December 16-18 – Joy and Ella came to visit.  They were en route from Hawaii to Kansas and they took the time to stop and spend a few days with us.  It was really wonderful to see my good friend and I’m so glad she got to meet Ava while she was so little.  Ella is 17 months old and was sort of interested in Ava but REALLY interested in Rue.  Rue got a taste of what it’s like to be chased (unfortunately it doesn’t seem to have made her chase Kiki any less!).  Having a 1.5 year old in the house made Kevin and I realize that our house is very NOT kid friendly.  We’ll be making some changes as Ava grows!
December 18 – Ava’s 2 month well check.  She screamed bloody murder at the shots, but handled them well after the fact.  Her little cries were heartbreaking!  And she weighed in at 8 lbs, 8 oz, and is gaining and growing at just the rate she needs to be at this stage.
December 24 – Christmas Eve dinner at our house with my great aunt and uncle, my parents, my sister, and Kevin’s parents.  We had a wonderful time eating posole and tamales.  We walked around the neighborhood and admired the lights and luminarias, then opened gifts.  It was a beautiful night.
December 25 – Christmas day feast at Craig and Sue’s house.  It was prime rib and so tasty.  Lots of delicious sides and desserts too.  Most of all, it was special to have both our families together for Ava’s first Christmas.
December 26 – Big snow storm!  Well, big for the desert.  :)
December 28-31 – Lisa came to visit!  Ava had a great time with her aunt.  We watched Anchorman (she’d never seen it!) and Kevin took her to crossfit.  She went to a basketball game with our great aunt, and it was really a lovely visit.
December 31 – Kevin, Ava, and I enjoyed a quiet evening at home.  Dinner was beef stroganoff and we even enjoyed a bit of the bubbly (a rose champagne).  We watched the ball drop {on TV} in NYC and were in bed by 11:00 PM.  It was the perfect end to the year.

Ate: (new recipes & restaurants)
Tried this recipe for shrimp saganaki – it was delicious!

Tell me something about your December!

12 thoughts on “Project 12 // December.

  1. I LOVE that you already brought Ava to a restaurant! Nate and I weren’t brave enough to do that until Brady was much older (and I think it therefore turned it into a much bigger ordeal since we were now both terrified of doing it). ;)
    You look GREAT, by the way!! :) Beautiful family!

  2. This is a beautiful photo of the three of you, and I adore Ava’s onesie, she looks like the cutest little candy cane.
    December is always busy, but it sounds like it was the good kind of busy: filled with good food, good people and lots of love.
    Happy 2016!

  3. This is such a great picture! I would say take Ava to restaurants while you still can–while it’s not a big deal. My mom fussed at me for taking Jake when he was only three weeks old. But I NEEDED to get out of the house after being there 24/7 for three weeks, and honestly, it’s not like Jake picked up all of these germs. He just slept in his carrier the whole time and it was great! The older he gets, the more difficult it is to keep him “entertained” while we wait for our meal to arrive. Those days were easy! It’s so great that you’re finding time to read even after Ava has arrived! I’ve read The Undomestic Goddess and Attachments, and I liked them both. :-) I haven’t read the one by Liane Moriarty, but I SHOULD! I’ve read two of hers, and I really REALLY like her! I think she’s several notches above Sophia Kinsella (even though she’s in the same genre). :-)

  4. I just requested Attachments at my library after you gave it five stars. I looked up the plot and it sounds SO good! I love unique books like that. Can’t wait to read it!!

    I can’t believe you guys got snow!! We’d been having an uncharacteristically warm winter in Pittsburgh until yesterday, haha. We finally got a dusting of snow and it was nine degrees this morning. Yep… definitely winter.

    Love the Christmas picture!

  5. I added Attachments to my to-read list!

    I love your love for family and friends and especially Kevin <3

    So is it Kevin's parents that have the piano? Does Kevin play??

  6. I heard so many rave reviews about The Royal We that I was kind of let down by it. It was okay, just not awesome. I’d probably give it 3 stars as well so I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who felt that way!

    What a full December! Naturally Ava is a hit everywhere she goes. She’s just fabulous! Also, I love that photo of the three of you! So precious! :)

  7. Pingback: Currently | Allie's Life

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

