Thankful, letter by letter.

Joining Kiki’s linkup to share (acrostic style) eight of the many, many people/place/things for which I am most thankful in the season of thankfulness.  Don’t be surprised if all of the below tracks back to a baby — that’s kind of my life right now.

AVA_0051

T – This Child.  She is such a blessing.  I am so completely overwhelmed with love for this beautiful, smart, sweet, perfect little girl.

H – Husband. To paraphrase the quote, I thought I couldn’t love Kevin more…then I saw him be a father.  He is amazing.  Such a natural with Ava, and so supportive and loving to me.  He still gets up at least once in the night to change a diaper or perform swaddling magic (he’s the champion swaddler in this house), even when he has to go to work the following day and doesn’t have the luxury of catnapping while the baby-boss sleeps.  He fetches my water-snack-book-etc. when I’m stuck nursing, and he listens to my post-partum woes.  When I get frustrated and burst into tears he just puts his arms around me and lets me cry, then tells me that I’m doing a great job and that the hard stuff will pass.  Needless to say, I am thankful for this guy.

A – A job.  I genuinely enjoy my job, and I am grateful that I am able to take some time away from work to take care of Ava.  When I return to work, it will be part time, and I’m very thankful to have that flexibility.

N – Nest.  Since I can basically count on one hand the number of times I’ve left the house in the past month, I would be remiss if I didn’t salute the ol’ home at this time.  I’m thankful for the roof over my head, the floor under my feet, and the special belongings that fill it.  I’m thankful for furnaces that keep me and my family warm.  I’m thankful that I live in a safe neighborhood.  I am so blessed.

K – Kiki and Rue.  The cats have done so well with the addition of Miss Ava.  They are so sweet and it is great to have them as company, day and night.  I’m thankful for furry family members.

F – Family and friends.  They are the best.  Near and far, they listen and they love and they share in the laughter and the tears.  They have shown….

U – Unsurpassed generosity.  Texts, phone calls, food deliveries, words of advice and support and love.  We have been spoiled beyond belief in the past month.

L – Library.  My first adventure separate from Ava was a quick trip to the library.  After all, due books and picking up holds are time sensitive. I may not have much time to read, but it’s nice to have the option.  I’m thankful for freedom of speech and access to books.  On a similar note, I recently finished the 2015 Reading Challenge and posted my final list of 52 books read this year.  I didn’t pay attention to the posting date though, and it backdated to October 30 and was instantly buried in archives.  Here it is, if you’re interested.

What are you thankful for this year? 

12 thoughts on “Thankful, letter by letter.

  1. What a wonderful poem! Your little girl is simply adorable and I love that photo that you included in your post. Congrats to you!

    Thanks for linking up!

    p.s. I was totally confused by seeing my name in your poem–I have to say, your cat has a great name! :)

  2. I’m thankful for my husband, furry friends, human friends and family, and a really good writing day!
    And I’m happy that you are having all this love in your life, it’s wonderful ❤

  3. I love this post so much. I am so happy for you and your family. Ava is the cutest thing. I saw your most recent Instagram picture of her and was swooning, then I read the caption and you said she was snoring and I swooned some more.

    I’m thankful for your sweet blog. It always brightens my day and brings a smile to my face!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

