Evicted – a birth story. {Part 1}

Some people have no interest in birth stories, but I personally love them.  It’s fun to have one of my very own to share now.

I jinxed myself with this post from week 36, where I talked about how all is well and the pregnancy is going swimmingly.  During week 37, things changed.  It started on Monday.

{Because the week leading up to the actual delivery is just as much part of the story as the labor and delivery, I’m breaking this story into two parts.  Here’s the week.}

IMG_1823

Monday:  We had our week 37 doctor’s appointment at 9:30 AM.  I was feeling great and had no reason to think it would be different than any other appointment.  Lo and behold though, my blood pressure was high.  I’ve never had an issue with high blood pressure – pregnant or not pregnant – so this was very out of the ordinary.  They asked me about my vision and other stuff that could signal preeclampsia, scheduled an ultrasound for the following day, and sent me over to triage at the adjacent hospital so that my blood pressure could be monitored every 15 minutes for a few hours.  Lab work was also done to check for preeclampsia.  The blood pressure remained high, but the labs came back with nothing out of the ordinary, so the midwife on duty told me that I should go on bed rest because preeclampsia can come on quick. She also sent me home with two jugs that resembled milk cartons and a urine collection tent – I had to do a 24 hour urine sample.  It felt hilariously absurd.

And just like that, I was on bed rest.  I spent the remainder of the day on the couch with my laptop, trying to clean out my inbox and get a few outstanding work items passed on to my backup.

Tuesday:  We started out the morning by dropping off my 24 hour collection of urine at a lab.  Of course I already knew that Kevin loves me, but when he carried my jug of pee into the lab…well, that is a for-better-or-for-worse kind of love, people.  Then we went to an ultrasound appointment and the primary takeaway was that the amniotic fluid levels were low.  The tech also said that she thought the baby was weighing in at around 7 lbs.  (She was very wrong.) The perinatal doctor told me he would send a report over to my doctor and that he wanted to see me again on Friday – if I hadn’t had the baby before then.

More couch time.

Wednesday:  We had a follow up at my doctor’s office for a blood pressure check.  It was high.  The nurse went to go tell my doctor the reading, and he was with another patient but somehow managed to convey to her that we were going to have the baby THAT day.  So we went to triage with that on our minds.  They hooked me up to the monitors, put in orders for more lab work to be done, and kept an eye on the blood pressure. They also brought in an ultrasound tech with portable equipment to check the fluid levels.  Strangely enough, the fluid levels were double what they had been the day before, and we learned that it’s really a subjective science, those fluid level measurements.  It depends on the baby’s positioning and other stuff that changes day to day. {Also, the equipment used on Wednesday was not nearly as fancy as the equipment used at the perinatal facility, so I think that may have had something to do with the difference in numbers.}

Through all of this, the baby was looking great – her heart beat was strong, she scored all the points possible at each ultrasound, and she was moving like a little champ.  She was perfectly content right where she was.  She had paid her 40 weeks worth of rent and wanted to wait it out.  Unfortunately it seemed my body was over being pregnant and ready to evict her.

Since the fluid levels seemed fine, the blood work and urine showed no signs of preeclampsia, and I even managed to get some lower blood pressure readings when laying on my left side, the midwife (a different one than Monday) said that they wanted to try to keep me pregnant for as long as possible.  She sent me home with instructions to stay on bed rest and come back Friday after the perinatal ultrasound for another blood pressure check.

Thursday:  No appointments so I couch rested like a boss.

Friday:  The third ultrasound of the week showed really low fluid levels.  On Tuesday the levels had been 7 (we were told that 8-24 are what they consider normal).  On Wednesday (with the less fancy ultrasound equipment) they had been 13.  And today – Friday – they were at a 4.  The perinatal doctor called my doctor, and then told us to go straight to the hospital – we were being induced.  We were direct admitted when we arrived at the hospital (skipping triage! yay!), which told us they meant business this time.  My doctor was talking to the midwife upon our arrival and they were in agreement that the fluid levels were getting dangerously low and it was time for the baby to leave her (depleting) water bed.

It was 12:30 PM when they admitted us to the hospital.  When they checked me, I was dilated to a big fat zero, which meant this induction was starting completely from scratch.  They started with some pill called Miso.  And then we waited….

To be continued….

 

12 thoughts on “Evicted – a birth story. {Part 1}

  1. This is exciting! I’m ready to hear the rest! But I’m sorry that you had so many troubles! Very different from my experience of going to the hospital and saying, “Maybe I’m having contractions, but I’m not sure if they’re real….I’m really not sure if this is labor…” And they took a look at me and I was 6 cm already. LOL

  2. cliff-hanger! you know, i still haven’t penned my birth-story. it was a little traumatic, and i think i’m just getting around to being okay with it. maybe i do it this weekend? we swap stories (in a sense)? so so happy you ended up with that pretty little girl in the end <3

  3. I absolutely love reading birth stories, too. They’re so fascinating, and I feel like they are an important part of the life story for moms and babies, you know? I’m really excited you are sharing yours.

    Kevin definitely loves you, and carrying your pee into the lab? He is such an A+ husband for that! What did you think of bed rest? Hate it? Love it? I hear a lot of mixed emotions from people that I know have been on bed rest (though I suppose it depends on the amount of time they’re on BR and what the situation is surrounding it.).

    Yay for skipping triage at the hospital!! I bet that was so nice, as I know it can be a looong wait sometimes! I laughed at you saying Ava left her “water bed” haha. If I ever get pregnant, that’s totally what I’m calling my womb ;).

    I have never heard of a pill called Miso! How interesting! Now I’m dying to know the rest of Ava’s birth story.

    I hope you, Kevin, Ava, and the cats are doing well! I always love seeing your Instagram pictures!

  4. Awwww, the suspense is killing me!! I love birth stories too, and I can’t wait to read the rest.
    Your story sounds EXACTLY like my experience (except I had too much fluid, instead of too little). And I’m already feeling your pain, because I know what it’s like to be induced.
    I just can’t wait to read the rest!

  5. Pingback: Evicted – a birth story. {Part 2} | A Desert Girl

  6. How were you feeling through all of this?? Physically and emotionally? Seems like a bit of a rollercoaster so far!

    I’m on the edge of my seat but I’m glad to know this story has a very exciting and happy ending :)

  7. “Of course I already knew that Kevin loves me, but when he carried my jug of pee into the lab…well, that is a for-better-or-for-worse kind of love, people.” <— HA! That was hilarious. And so true!

    I am looking forward to hearing the rest of this story! I love birth stories!

  8. Pingback: An official announcement. – A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

