Because you asked.

IMG_1344

^ Let’s fiesta… ^

After this post, several people were curious about the correct order to wash dishes, which my mom listed as one of my obsessions.  Well.  I’m here to tell you all about that and I’m sure you’ll be sorry you asked.

For the majority of my life I have not had a dishwasher.  I don’t really remember that we had one for the bulk of my time at home with my parents, Tiffany and I did not have one in our college apartments, I didn’t have one in China (of course I also didn’t really cook in China – preferring to order in fried rice approximately six days a week…no wonder I hauled a few extra pounds home on my person.), and my first house that I bought didn’t have one.  Really, it wasn’t until I moved in with Kevin that I began living the life of luxury and that was at age 26 (27?).  So, in all those years without the option to choose a light-normal-pots&pans cycle, I came up with a system for washing dishes.

First you have to organize the dishes.  Stack the plates according to size, keep all the silverware together, line up the glasses, etc.  Then you put hot water and dish soap in the sink and add the silverware, then the plates, then the bowls, then the glasses.  Wash the glasses first, rinse and line up to dry.  Then wash the bowls and the plates.  Rinse and stack in an organized criss-cross fashion to allow for proper air circulation while drying.  Then do the silverware, which has been soaking in the hot, soapy water and is therefore mostly free of the built up food gunk that clings to silverware.  Rinse and leave to dry.  Finally you can move on to pots, pans, bigger stuff, adding more hot water and/or soap if needed.  Rinse and strategically place around the other drying items so as to best prevent an avalanche of dishes.  And that’s that.

But that was then.  Now that I’m all spoiled and #classy, it’s pure chaos at dishwashing time.  I mean, it gets downright wild as I carelessly prepare the dishes for bath time – top rack, top rack, bottom rack, top rack, silverware tray, bottom rack, bottom rack.  Look out!

Do you have a system that you passionately follow for any household chores?  How do you wash dishes? 

8 thoughts on “Because you asked.

  1. Love this!! I wash dishes for the family I work for, and I pretty much go in that order, though I usually do the bowls first for some reason?! Thanks for sharing, this was fun to read :)

    P.S. I am like you with the dishwasher… pretty haphazard! It drives Jimmy nuts :)

  2. I’m glad you cleared that up haha! I didn’t have a dishwasher until I came to Canada at 23, and I had a routine as well: glasses first, then cups, bowls, plates, silverware, pots and pans last. The glasses were lined up on a dish towel to dry, the other stuff went in the second sink upside down, to be dried when I was done washing everything.
    This post was fun!

  3. Hahaha! Oh my goodness, this cracked me up! I mean, I can’t make fun because I’m particular about how cleaning happens too (particularly about how the bed is made, but Christopher could probably name a few things I’m particular about that I don’t even realize, haha!). My favorite part, though, was this: “Rinse and stack in an organized criss-cross fashion to allow for proper air circulation while drying.” Oh girl, that is so specific and practical and it just made me laugh. I’m glad you’re living the high life with a dish washer now, though! :)

  4. I don’t use a dishwasher at my house, and I’m a “clean as you go” kind of person. I do NOT like dishes in the sink so I always wash as I use them. No order to it, just as long as they get washed. SOMETIMES I leave a few overnight and wash them in the morning as part of my routine. I’m weird.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

