2015 Reading Challenge – check in numero dos.

image

2015 Reading Challenge

1. A book with more than 500 pages
The Glass Lake by Maeve Binchy – 5 stars

2. A classic romance

3. A book that became a movie

4. A book published this year

5. A book with a number in the title
One Plus One by Jojo Moyes – 3 stars

6. A book written by someone under 30
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – 4 stars

7. A book with nonhuman characters
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame – 3 stars

8. A funny book
The Rosie Effect by Graeme C. Simsion – 4 stars

9. A book by a female author
Anne of Ingleside by LM Montgomery – 4 stars

10. A mystery or thriller
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn – 4 stars

11. A book set in a different country
Rumor Has It by Jill Mansell – 3 stars

12. A book with a one-word title
Son by Lois Lowry – 5 stars

13. A book of short stories
Single, Carefree, Mellow:  Stories by Katherine Heiny – 3 stars

14. A nonfiction book

15. A popular author’s first book
Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty – 4 stars

16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet
Anne’s House of Dreams by LM Montgomery – 3 stars

17. A book a friend recommended
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – 3 stars

18. A Pulitzer Prize winning book
John Adams. by David McCullough – 5 stars

19. A book based on a true story

20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list

21. A book your mom loves
Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind by Suzanne Fisher Staples – 3 stars

22. A book that scares you
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – 4 stars

23. A book more than 100 years old

24. A book based entirely on the cover
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – 5 stars

25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

26. A memoir

27. A book you can finish in a day
Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior in Company and Conversation – George Washington (Francis Hawkins’ translation) – 4 stars

28. A book with antonyms in the title
Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – 3 stars

29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
The Rosie Project by Graeme C. Simsion – 5 stars

30. A book that came out the year you were born
Beaches by Iris Rainer Dart – 4 stars

31. A book with bad reviews

32. A trilogy
The Selection by Kiera Cass – 4 stars
The Elite by Kiera Cass – 4 stars

33. A book from your childhood
Christy by Catherine Marshall – 4 stars

34. A book with a love triangle
Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella – 4 stars

35. A book set in the future

36. A book set in high school
Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – 4 stars

37. A book with a color in the title
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant – 4 stars

38. A book that made you cry
Before I Go by Colleen Oakley – 4 stars

39. A book with magic

40. A graphic novel
Emily the Strange by Cosmic Debris Etc. Inc. – 2 stars

41. A book by an author you’ve never read before
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare – 3 stars

42. A book you own but have never read
All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – 5 stars

43. A book that takes place in your hometown
No Life for a Lady by Agnes Morley Cleaveland – 4 stars

44. A book that was originally written in a different language
Sophie’s World by  Jostein Gaarder (translated by Paulette Moller) – 2 stars

45. A book set during Christmas

46. A book written by an author with the same initials as you

47. A play
4000 Miles by Amy Herzog – 3 stars

48. A banned book

49. A book based on or turned into a TV show
The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell – 3 stars

50. A book you started but never finished

Check in numero dos – June 9, 2015
# of books read: 36
# of books remaining: 16

{Check in numero uno can be found here.}

What are you reading?

9 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge – check in numero dos.

  1. Holy crap woman. I obviously need a new life… one with more reading in it. How do you do it?!???

    I can’t believe you haven’t read a nonfiction book yet. That cracks me up!

    I just looked up Before I Go. Interesting concept! Fun fact: I cried reading Fly a Little Higher (also about living/cancer/dying) on a plane beside a dude who was probably wondering what was wrong with me. I also cried reading Act of Valor on a plane. Apparently books + planes = me crying. ha. Doesn’t take much.

  2. I wish Kiera Cass would write another trilogy! I loved The Selection books!

    Okay so I wrote that comment above… and then thought to myself “what if she HAS written another trilogy” so I looked it up. She hasn’t, but it turns out that she wrote a follow up book to The Selection. I’m SO excited to read it now!!

  3. This is such a fun list! I love the author with the same initials as you one. I’m not sure that I own a book that I have not read, maybe one my brother sent me. You liked Three Wishes more than Big Little Lies, I might have to add that one to my list.

  4. Uh oh… It looks like you’re saving a lot of tough ones for last! “Book at the bottom of your list,” “Book that got bad reviews,” etc. I meant to tell you that I read Rules of Civility (by Towles, not Washington). I really wanted to love it, but I just didn’t. 😡 I just found myself getting so irritated at all of the characters–especially the protagonist (Kate? Katy?). Oh well….I gave it a shot!

  5. you finished rules of civility in a day? nice work! i loved that one :) also, interesting to choose “A book at the bottom of your to-read list” – i’ll have to see what’s been sitting there for a while. now, warning: i used to read a book-a-week, but since bebe, well – i’m averaging 1 every 2 months. you’ll probably do better than that, but read now :)

  6. Pingback: To-do in 2015: the halfway point. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

