Commercial break.

A few months ago, the marketing people at my former place of employment contacted me about my dishwasher.

I guess that will seem less random if I explain that my former place of employment is a plumbing/construction company.

Our dishwasher worked fine, but it was pretty old.  It came with the house and while it got the job done, there was lots of hard water build up and we certainly didn’t have any attachment to it.  The company offered to replace our dishwasher with a new one if the marketing team could first film me destroying the old one with a sledgehammer for a commercial about how hard water destroys your appliances.  I like a good arm workout as well as the next person, so I agreed.

Three of the marketing people came by one afternoon and we spent around three hours in the kitchen – them behind the camera, directing the shots, and me with a sledgehammer, acting my little non-actress heart out.

Here is the final result.

That wine-glass-drop-and-shatter part was a one shot wonder, so I think it’s safe to say I’m a natural at smashing dishes.

Also, my right arm and shoulder were very sore the following day.

Have you ever been on TV?  Have you ever been tempted to destroy your dishwasher or any other appliance (while considering this question, I hope I’m not the only one who thinks of Office Space and the ill-fated copier)? 

15 thoughts on “Commercial break.

  1. Wow! It looks like your glass/dishes got more damage than the actual dishwasher, haha! But it’s great that you got a free appliance out of that. It looks fun! (But maybe the fun wears off after three hours of retakes).

  2. hahaha love it! I especially enjoyed the goggle wiggle as you aggressively situated them properly. Congrats! How do you feel about the result? What did Kevin say??

    OF COURSE I think about Office Space. Only. Our old printer at work used to say “PC Load Letter” when it was out of paper. More Office Space thoughts!

  3. I LOVE THIS! HAHAA, how awesome. You are a natural in front of the camera, and YES I definitely thought of Office Space. I often want to take a sledgehammer to one of the espresso machines at work…

  4. Pingback: Because I’m happy… |

  5. Okay, I don’t know how I missed this (I just clicked here from Rach’s post), but this is seriously SO awesome!! You did a great job :-)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

