Quoting Vanilla Ice…

IMG_0183

{This photo was easier said than done.  Reddy Ice has a strong hold on the Albuquerque ice market and we had to drive all over town to find ice bags that just said “ICE” and not “Reddy Ice”.  Because Reddy Ice Reddy Ice Baby just doesn’t have the same ring to it.}

ETA early November 2015, which means I’m at the 15 week mark.  Since finding out that I’m pregnant, time has slowed down.  I would dare to say that it had stopped altogether, but here we are – in the future.  {At one point in the middle of week seven time literally DID move backwards in this pregnancy because I realized that I had miscalculated the due date by three days.  Counting weeks is so…complex.}  It was harder than I thought it would be to keep the secret for the first week or two after finding out, but after I settled into it, it was so fun to share the knowledge of this special time with Kevin alone.  We told our parents and my sister at week 9 after the first ultrasound, swearing them to secrecy until we returned home from Europe and went to a second ultrasound appointment.  I was a bundle of nerves through the first trimester and as fun as our trip overseas was, traveling so far from home didn’t help ease my worry about things that could go wrong.  By the grace of God, everything was wonderful and we felt comfortable sharing the news with close friends and friends and our respective workplaces at week 12.

And now I’m excited to share the news in this space.  I promise to regale you with stories about all the silly things I’ve done thus far in pregnancy.  Like how I thought my OB’s Medical Assistant ordered my ultrasound at a fine establishment called “Pinon Pine Needle”.  Interesting name, thought I.  Fetuses/babies are little…like pine needles?  When I Googled the address I was kindly corrected by the G-search tool.  Pinon Perinatal.  Makes more sense.  In my defense, to this chapter of life, I don’t think I had ever spoken the word ‘perinatal’ so it just…didn’t click.

I’m craving cherry/grape tomatoes pretty much all of the time and popping them like candy.  I have also been craving milk, which I have never drank much of in the past.  My only real food aversion has been chocolate – but the aversion is very discriminating.  Truffle kind of chocolate is a no-no-no.  I think I OD’ed on it when I went to that truffle making class a few months ago, and now just the thought of chocolate ganache makes my mouth water in a bad way.  But Thin Mints and ice cream sandwiches and just plain chocolate ice cream sound great.

What else is there to tell….  I’ve been very fortunate on the sickness front and really only feel ill for a little bit of time in the mornings.  It passes pretty quickly and as long as I eat regularly, I feel good through the day.  I’m especially grateful for this since we had our trip to Europe booked before we found out about the pregnancy, and it would have been horrible to be really sick while traveling.

That’s all for now.  More about how I told Kevin and how we told our parents and my sister to come.

16 thoughts on “Quoting Vanilla Ice…

  1. AHHHHHHH! I’m just SO excited for you guys! And your announcement is adorable! This is the first time I’ve seen this one. Very creative and cute! And way to be so determined to get those bags of ice, haha! I’m so glad to hear that you’ve been doing well and that Europe went well despite being in the first trimester. Hooray, hooray, hooray!

  2. YAY!! How exciting! You made a comment one time on a baby post that I wrote that you said was “a little scary,” and I worried that I discouraged you from motherhood. I’m glad to know that I haven’t! It will be a big life change, but you will have so much fun! :-)

  3. OMG AMY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations guys!!!! This girl is requesting a guest post from Kevin (or at least an interview!) to get all the details from his perspective too. Please!! :)

    I am so so so so SO excited for you two! And I can’t wait for the bazillions of baby posts! :)

    PS – I always ask the question about food cravings. I figure it’s fun, not intrusive, and interesting. Thanks for sharing that right away!

    PPS – Boy ;) That’s my gut.

  4. Congratulations!!!! Also, James and I have always said that we will announce (someday) with some good old fashion ‘nilla Ice….great minds think alike!!!

  5. Congratulations, this is SO EXCITING!! I had a feeling you may be pregnant… One of your travel posts describes a dinner where you mention that Kevin had a beer, and I was wondering if you didn’t because you are pregnant. I’m thrilled for you two!
    Such a cute announcement, too!

  6. WOOOO! This is fun! There are a bazillion plus eight-five bloggers who are pregnant right now. WHAT IS HAPPENING? Are you going to post weekly updates? What are your thoughts about pregnancy blogging/sharing the name? Finding out the gender? Tell me everything! P.S. Were you trying?
    Yes, I went there. Some people think it’s rude to ask, but I don’t so I’m doing it. Feel free to ignore the question if you are in the former camp.

    • P.P.S. I showed Jordan the ice ice baby one when I was trying to figure out our announcement picture. I thought it was funny! He said no. Sad face.

  7. Congrats Amy and Kevin!!!!! :) I LOVE your announcement! That’s so cute that you had to go driving around to find just “ice” too – a fun story to tell the baby :) I’m glad you’re feeling good and I hope it continues! Can’t wait to follow along!!!

  8. LOVE the announcement!!! :)
    And I can’t wait to hear all about your preggo adventures! ;) I felt so ditzy throughout my pregnancy, because – trust me – pregnancy brain is a real thing. Just go with it and laugh, as you’re already doing. It makes for GREAT story telling / blog posts, in the very least. ;)

    I was the same way with the cravings, by the way. I drank sooooo much milk! :) (And then I ate soooo much meat too. Ha, ha. I guess I just wanted protein all the time).

  9. that time slowing down thing? so true, but mine started right after telling everyone – i couldn’t wait to meet our babe :) now, however, things are definitely speeding up (it all equals out eventually!) congrats again!!

  10. Pingback: Project 12 // May 2015. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

