2015 Reading Challenge – check in numero uno.

image

Tiffany sent me the link to this reading challenge back in December and she practically double dog dared me to try it.  Well, not really.  I think her exact words were, “You should do this.”  Challenge accepted.

So basically I’ve been reading all the books.  This has really taken me outside my comfort zone (read: easy cheesy reads) and let me just tell you, living life in the fast library lane is a wild time.  Here are the challenge topics and the books I’ve read so far.

2015 Reading Challenge

1. A book with more than 500 pages
The Glass Lake by Maeve Binchy – 5 stars

2. A classic romance

3. A book that became a movie

4. A book published this year

5. A book with a number in the title

6. A book written by someone under 30
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – 4 stars

7. A book with nonhuman characters
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame – 3 stars

8. A funny book
Rumor Has It by Jill Mansell – 3 stars

9. A book by a female author
Anne of Ingleside by LM Montgomery – 4 stars

10. A mystery or thriller
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn – 4 stars

11. A book set in a different country
Anne’s House of Dreams by LM Montgomery – 3 stars

12. A book with a one-word title
Son by Lois Lowry – 5 stars

13. A book of short stories

14. A nonfiction book

15. A popular author’s first book
Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty – 4 stars

16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet

17. A book a friend recommended
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – 3 stars

18. A Pulitzer Prize winning book
John Adams. by David McCullough – 5 stars

19. A book based on a true story

20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list

21. A book your mom loves

22. A book that scares you

23. A book more than 100 years old

24. A book based entirely on the cover
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – 5 stars

25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

26. A memoir

27. A book you can finish in a day
Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior in Company and Conversation – George Washington (Francis Hawkins’ translation) – 4 stars

28. A book with antonyms in the title
Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – 3 stars

29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
The Rosie Project by Graeme C. Simsion – 5 stars

30. A book that came out the year you were born

31. A book with bad reviews

32. A trilogy
The Selection by Kiera Cass – 4 stars

33. A book from your childhood
Christy by Catherine Marshall – 4 stars

34. A book with a love triangle
Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella – 4 stars

35. A book set in the future

36. A book set in high school
Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – 4 stars

37. A book with a color in the title

38. A book that made you cry

39. A book with magic

40. A graphic novel
Emily the Strange by Cosmic Debris Etc. Inc. – 2 stars

41. A book by an author you’ve never read before
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare – 3 stars

42. A book you own but have never read

43. A book that takes place in your hometown

44. A book that was originally written in a different language

45. A book set during Christmas

46. A book written by an author with the same initials as you

47. A play

48. A banned book

49. A book based on or turned into a TV show
The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell – 3 stars

50. A book you started but never finished

Check in numero uno –
# of books read:  22
# of books remaining:  30

Whew.  I’m nearly half done with the challenge and the year is only a quarter complete.  Which makes me feel like I should explain myself (I’m a fast reader – I don’t watch much TV or garden or run or really do anything else outside of work that demands a lot of time – reading is my favorite and favorites are prioritized – more often than not there are dishes that need to be put away and mail that needs to be sorted and a thousand other things that are waiting patiently for completion so I certainly don’t choose housework over reading, etc.) which is silly.  But there are the excuses, for your reading pleasure, all the same.

What’s your favorite hobby?  Do you like to challenge yourself in that hobby (example:  reading challenges, running PR’s, etc.) or just relax into it? 

14 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge – check in numero uno.

  1. LOVE this challenge! I am going to check out some of the books you read! For #50 you can read “The Light Between Oceans” haha. I had a hard time getting into it at first because the author referenced a lot of light house stuff and used a lot of Australian lingo, but once I got used to it, I really got into it.

    Reading is definitely one of my top hobbies as well! I’m willing to leave the dishes/vacuuming/etc. be if I’m really into a book :)

  2. I am so looking forward to having more time for pleasure reading this summer! Right now I feel guilty doing any pleasure reading because 1) there is a baby requiring near constant attention and 2) I always have mountains of graduate school reading that I *should* be doing, though I never really manage to finish each week’s readings in their entirety. I recently (accidentally, I promise!) began reading the Harry Potter series over again. It just started because I was substitute teaching for a high school teacher (who basically assigned me to watch students take tests all day) and I brought *Sorceror’s Stone *because I knew it was likely that I would get bored and I needed a book I’d read before so that I wouldn’t get consumed by needing to know what happened next….and a few weeks later, here I am into *Prisoner of Azkaban*, guiltily reading by flashlight under the sheets after everyone else has gone to sleep each night. I need to read something new!

  3. That reading challenge is WAY more interesting than the typical ‘read this many books in the year’. Love it!!
    And I have been SO bad at reading these past few months. Hopefully as I get more organized, I’ll find time for that again. :)

  4. Look at your list! January I read 5 books, and then Feb and March I’ve just barely finished 1 each. Oh well. Seasons of life :) I’ll have to add The Glass Lake to my list since you gave it 5 stars!

  5. what a fun challenge – i like that there are so many categories you can kinda squeeze in the books you want to read :) also, recommendation for you: i just started A Man Called Ove and I’m kinda in love. Have a feeling I’ll be talking about that one for a while :)

  6. Okay even though we’re already 3 months into this challenge, I totally am going to hop on the bandwagon. This looks like so much fun!! I loved Can You Keep a Secret?

  7. This is a great challenge! I’m sure you’ll finish the list in no time at all- given your progress so far! (Except maybe the book with bad reviews, that could take a while!) lovely blog :)

  8. Suggestion for your Christmas book : This Year It Will Be Different by Maeve Binchey. Short stories and easy to read but it makes you feel. I love Maeve Binchey! And you! Andy

  9. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge – check in numero dos. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

