Makin’ truffles.

Ashley scored a great deal on Groupon (typical story, right?) – learn how to make truffles at La Joliesse Chocolates.  She invited Heather and me to tag along and it was a sweet adventure.  Choc-olate it up to a good time!  Sorry – I just cocoan’t resist.

One of the owners of the shop taught the class and his passion for chocolate was clear.  It’s so fun to learn from someone who is passionate about their work, right?  He gave us a history of chocolate and we did a tasting.  Within the first 30 minutes of class I was well on my way to becoming a chocolate snob and never buying Hershey’s again.

Then we hit the kitchen.  Each participant got to spend some time tempering chocolate (bringing it to right temperature so the best sugar crystals can form) and then we each made a butter ganache.

IMG_9692

The most fun part followed…our instructor turned us loose on a table full of flavorings.  Herbs, sea salt, cream of tartar, different liqueurs, balsamic vinegar (shockingly good with chocolate!), and lots more.  We could try a little sample with our ganache and once a winning combination was discovered, we mixed it into the full bowl.  I went pretty plain-Jane with sea salt and cream of tartar (it added a citrus punch to the chocolate).  Ashley and Heather were more creative. The ganache went into the freezer to cool for a few minutes and then we rolled spoonfuls into little truffles.  The truffles could be coated with powdered sugar, cocoa, crushed almonds, red pepper flakes…whatever we wanted.

IMG_9703

IMG_9694-0

It was messy but so fun!  We each left with around 20 homemade truffles.

And a bit of a sugar high.

Have you ever made truffles?  What is your favorite kind of chocolate?

15 thoughts on “Makin’ truffles.

  1. That looks so fun! (and delicious!) I would have definitely been on a sugar high after that class! Something about seeing you girls with all of those truffles lined up in front of you reminds me of that chocolate episode of I Love Lucy. :-)

    On Tue, Mar 17, 2015 at 9:34 AM, A Desert Girl wrote:

    > Amy @ A Desert Girl posted: “Ashley scored a great deal on Groupon > (typical story, right?) – learn how to make truffles at La Joliesse > Chocolates. She invited Heather and me to tag along and it was a sweet > adventure. Choc-olate it up to a good time! Sorry – I just cocoan’t > resist.”

  2. Oh my goodness! This looks like so much fun. I’ve never done anything like this before, but I think I would really enjoy it! Plus, hello chocolate. I love truffles.

  3. Truffles are my husband’s favorite….now I will be searching for a place like that here in Dallas! Looks like an awesome time. Oh, and I love just about all chocolate, maybe chocolate covered fruit is my favorite.

  4. UM WHAAAAT!!! A truffle-making class?! That is brilliant! Did you know it would be so messy and manual?

    Also you know you can’t knock Hershey’s to a Pennsylvanian, right? Shame on you :-P

  5. This is so cool! I’ve never done anything like this, but it looks like such fun. I love all the options you had for making your truffles. Christopher loves sweet and salty so he would have loved your chocolate with sea salt! Also, the shot of you guys with your chocolatey hands is pretty adorable. ;)

  6. This looks like SO much fun!!! I want to do this! I’ve never tried making truffles at home. I once tried a truffle like recipe and you were suppose to coat it in white chocolate…it was a total fail and now I avoid anything like that. Maybe I will see if I can find a similar class in SD and try again.

  7. What a fun thing to do with friends! I loved all your chocolate jokes at the beginning LOL. I also thing it’s amazing to learn from someone who LOVES what they do!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

