Project 12 // February 2015.

 *Project 12 – A photo on (or around) the first day of each month.*
{Idea credit & linking up with  The Lady Okie}

February:

IMG_9482

A Valentine’s day bike ride to keep those hearts healthy –
in love and in the cardiovascular sense.

Read:
In The Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson – 3 stars {Kevin}
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – 5 stars (re-read it, still loved it)
Rules of Civility and Decent Behavior in Company and Conversation by George Washington (copied from translation by Francis Hawkins – 1640) – 4 stars
The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell – 3 stars
The Glass Lake by Maeve Binchy – 5 stars (re-read it, still loved it)
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare – 3 stars
Christy by Catherine Marshall – 4 stars
Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty – 4 stars
The Rosie Project by Graeme C. Simsion – 5 stars

Travel Adventures:
Kevin took a day trip to Farmington for work.
Kevin traveled to the land of eternal sun for a Suns basketball game and father/son bonding time with his dad.

Noteworthy Days & Events:
February 1 – Super Super Bowl party at Nathan & Alex’s house – great company and the game wasn’t too shabby either.
February 2 – Booked flights to Europe!  Springtime in Paris, here we come.
February 5 – Amy and Derek had second-row seats for a local theatre production of Anatomy of a Murder (two thumbs up!  great show!)
February 7 – Vet appointment bonding time for Kiki and Rue – united in their hatred of veterinary offices and the humans who drag them there.
February 12 – Earned an adulthood gold star by getting life insurance.
February 14 – Valentine’s Day – read more here
February 21 – We bought 5 boxes of Thin Mints.  Only to support the Girl Scouts – not because we wanted the cookies or anything.
February 27 – While Kevin was in Phoenix, the ABQ area was hit with around 8 inches of snow.  Amy binge watched season one and season two of Parenthood and only felt mildly claustrophobic, home alone (which you know she LOVES) with all that “severe” weather {seriously – people who live in snowy climates, HOW do you do it?}.

Ate: (new recipes & restaurants)
Prepared this lemon salmon – baked in an aluminum foil pouch
Met Kelly & Nelson for breakfast at a new-to-us spot – Gravy
Triple date with some friends at another new spot – Piattini
Prepared this Whole 30 approved beef and Brussels sprouts entrée.  Except I forgot to buy the sprouts so we used zucchini squash.
Kevin tried a new restaurant for lunch – Café Bien.

Tell me something about your February!

14 thoughts on “Project 12 // February 2015.

  1. I love any book written by Liane Moriarty! I haven’t read that one (I looked it up and apparently it was her first?), but I’ll have to put it on my list! And binge-watching Parenthood while eating Thin Mint cookies (which I’m assuming happened, right?) while watching the snow fall sounds heavenly! :-)

  2. That picture is seriously so, so cute. I love it. So, tell me more about Kevin’s rating system. I’m particularly interested in his thoughts on In the Garden of the Beasts. I read it last year :) I maybe gave it 3.5 stars? I don’t exactly remember. Erik Larson is a genius, though. I have read 4 of his books and am amazed by his research!

  3. You mentioned ABQ! Are you from there? My Dad grew up there so I love that city. I especially love Hatch Green Chiles.

    You all read a lot of books!

    Yay for Life Insurance! A lot of people don’t realize how important that is.

  4. Dang, you get you GS cookies earlier than we do. I’ll have to be on the lookout. Your reading list has shamed me. I spent the month watching too much television :(

  5. I honestly didn’t do a whole lot in February (other than begin working part-time again), because of the baby and its being SO gold and snowy out. I have super high hopes for March though! (Not that February was bad or anything!! I think I needed one more restful, quiet month). But I feel a renewed sense of energy, and I can’t wait to see what fun things March brings!! :)

  6. you read rosie project! i loved that book (also 5 stars), but i wasn’t as much a fan of the sequel. are you gonna get that? it’s about the two of them having a baby, and so i figured i could relate, but… IDK. good news? my book club gave the sequel 5 stars. oooh, and love the bike pic! we have a few similar photos :)

  7. The Glass Lake, huh? Five stars sounds like a winner – especially since you’ve read it before and still loved it! I’m checking it out on Goodreads now! :)

    Ahh! You officially booked the trip!! I’m so excited for you! Take a million pictures for me! I can’t wait to hear all your stories! :) Now I’m expecting both a British AND French accent in June. ;)

  8. You are a reading machine! I want to read ‘Three Wishes’, but it’s not available on kindle right now; gotta try my luck at the library.
    Also: snow?? In the desert? What is this madness?

  9. I missed all the other words because all I saw was PARIS!!!! and SNOW!!!! How did I miss that you got so much snow?!? Also, just emailed you about Paris. Woohoo! :)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

