Project 12 // January 2015.

Amanda (aka The Lady Okie) inspired me.  Last year she did something called Project 12 (*a photo on the first day of each month*), and this year, I’m playing along.  Of course, my photos probably won’t be taken on the first day of each month, but what can I say?  I’m a rebel and a rebel’s gotta…rebel.  Regardless, you can expect a photo and a recap, in all its glory, of each month.

January:

IMG_9319

A family photo, shot by Lisa.  Rue brought out her crazy eyes for the occasion, and Kiki is doing her best impression of a sullen, tortured teenager. #traumatized #sorrynotsorry

Read:
In The Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides — (Kevin) – 5 stars
Anne’s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery – 3 stars
Anne of Ingleside by L.M.  Montgomery – 3 stars
Rumor Has It by Jill Mansell – 3 stars
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer – 3 stars
Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella – 4 stars
Son by Lois Lowry – 5 stars
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame – 3 stars
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – 4 stars
Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – 4 stars

Travel Adventures: 
Didn’t leave the metro area.  January was a month for staying close to home.

Noteworthy Days & Events: 
January 4 – Amy’s birthday
January 8 – Sue had knee replacement surgery
January 16 – Replaced the downstairs furnace
January 17 – Chicago on stage & dinner at Yanni’s (Amy’s birthday gift from Kevin)
January 18 – Amy got a bike (birthday gift from Craig & Sue)

Ate: (new recipes & restaurants)
Prepared this Greek Chicken Salad
Prepared this Sautéed Kale
Prepared this Garlic Mushroom Quinoa

Tell me about your January. 

13 thoughts on “Project 12 // January 2015.

  1. Okay, we might be in a fight. Did you seriously rate the Anne books 3 stars? What is happening. Have you read the series before, or is this your first time? I’m so confused. By 3 stars, you meant 5, right? Surely.

    Moving on. Yay for Project 12! I love your family pictures. Super cute. I love the “ate” category!

  2. You guuuuuys! Sooo precious. Well, you and Kevin are anyway. You are so right about your cats! Rue does have the crazy eyes going on and I can totally see Kiki sulking. They are hilarious with their little personalities!

    Also, I’m checking out that Greek salad!

  3. Rue’s eyes!! They are awesome. She’s so cute! So is Kiki, and she definitely has the whole “my parents are embarrassing, this is so lame”-teenage attitude down. You have read a ton! Sounds like your January was cozy.

  4. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close got only three stars? amy! it’s one of my favorite books. i guess i’ll forgive you. i wonder if we would rate other things similarly? also – i love the one photo a month idea. i did it last year, and this year.. well.. without a plan, jon and i didn’t take ANY photos in january!

  5. Love this picture!! Kiki really did bring out her crazy eyes, but she is still adorable! And WOW, you read so many books in one month! That’s awesome! I’m all about LM Montgomery, so YAY for Anne! And Diary of a Young Girl is such an important one.

  6. Whaaat how did Anne’s books only get 3 stars?? Maybe because you compared it to the brilliance of Anne of Green Gables and it fell short like all literature will (except Pride & Prejudice!)?? :P I love the Project 12 idea. I’ve started Project Life so stuff like that is what i want to document…just on paper with lots of STICKERS! :D

  7. Rue’s eyes get the same as Lexie’s. Do the kitties climb on top of the kitchen cabinets?

    What did you like most about Son? The Giver is in my top 5 favorites (at least) so I’ve been trying to read it again with J-slice for his first time and then move on to the other books that I never read. They didn’t exist when I first read The Giver in elementary school!

    This is a fun thing to do! I’m excited to read it every month.

    In January… we spent all of our waking hours with my Grandpa until he passed away on the 2nd, we attended his funeral and later burial, my indoor soccer session started, I started working out with my personal trainer again, I started playing soccer with another group, we celebrated my Mom’s birthday, and I ended the month in California!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

