Words.

image

These literary quotes make me want to curl up in the corner of a library and bury myself in the pages of well-written books.

Some of my favorites that aren’t in that article:

I fell in love the way you fall asleep…slowly, then all at once.  -John Green (The Fault In Our Stars)

Words and emotions are simple currencies.  If we inflate them, they lose their value, just like money.  They begin to mean nothing. -Jess Walter (Beautiful Ruins)

{That quote reminds me so much of The Giver and how the community has such a focus on precision of language, something resonates with me very strongly.}

My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes. -L.M. Montgomery (Anne of Green Gables)

“I am well in body although considerably rumpled up in spirit, thank you, ma’am,” said Anne gravely.  -L.M. Montgomery (Anne of Green Gables)

Really just go read (or re-read) Anne.  I love it all.

Same goes for Harry Potter.  All of them.  Anything Dumbledore says is literary gold.  Like, “It is our choices that show what we truly are far more than our abilities.”

And this post made me wish I was clever and funny.  Hilarious.  Then I explored the archives and found this, which was even better.

I’m currently reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer and am finding it to be quite quotable as well.

What’s your favorite quote?  What are you currently reading?

9 thoughts on “Words.

  1. We are meant to be friends…bosom friends. :) Haha. I love the quote where Anne is talking to Marilla about tomorrow being a new day with no mistakes in it yet. One of my other favorite books for quotes is Winnie the Pooh!

  2. Ooh, I love these quotes!! YES to everything Anne. And to Dumbledore. And I’m super excited to read the lady person article, based on the title alone :-)

  3. Oh my word, “I miss you when I blink” is beyond hilarious. You are right, as soon as I started reading I yearned to be just half as funny as her. What a way with words!
    Reading great quotes is such a humbling, yet inspiring experience: I admire these writers so much. The John Green one is one of my faves as well, totally on point!

  4. I love this post so much. Thank you for sharing these!!

    The most quotable book in my opinion is The Alchemist by Paolo Coelho. A lot of his books are but The Alchemist just has some great big-picture life wisdom.

    I too wrote down that quote from TFIOS. Good one, Amy!

  5. I was trying to think of a good book quote, but really i’d just have to type out the entire text of Rules of Civility or something. Or that letter at the end of Me Before You, which just killed me. I’m reading Tiny Beautiful Things now -it’s a book of advice essays by the endlessly quotable Cheryl Strayed. Love.

  6. One of my favourites is the opening lines to Albert Camus’ The Outsider: “Mother died today. Or maybe it was yesterday; I’m not really sure”. It starts with something devastating, and then negates out completely.

  7. Oh that Anne quote! Love the emotions it conveys. And the Anne quote from the Buzzfeed article too – also great!

    And yes, anything from Harry Potter. Dumbledore had some really incredible lines. One of my favorites was his “sometimes we must make the choice between what is right and what is easy” quote. So much truth.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

