Sweekend.

A sweekend post on a Tuesday.  Two posts in two days…(and there’s one on the docket for tomorrow too, which would bring the count to three in three – a record around these parts.)  What can I say?  I like to live la vida loca.

Let’s start with Saturday and I hope you’ll not judge me (too harshly) when I tell you that I got sucked into not one, not two, but THREE Hallmark Channel Christmas movies.  I’m weak.  And romantic at heart.

Kevin’s big birthday gift from me was a massage at our favorite spa.  I received a gift card to the spa on my last birthday, so I didn’t feel too bad about making a massage appointment for myself as well.  It was a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

IMG_8904

That night we went to the annual Christmas party bash thrown by one of Kevin’s mentors.  It is always a lot of fun with really good food.  I made myself sick on queso – the sign of a good time indeed.

Sunday we went to brunch with Kelly and Nelson at a cute little place that specializes is sweet and/or savory waffles.  It was carbtastic.  They also had peppermint mocha to offer – yes, please.

IMG_8927

We made the grocery store rounds and then we went to make a very special pick-up….  The newest member of our family came home with us.  Meet Rue.

IMG_8941

She’s almost 6 months old and she fell out of a tree in her former foster home’s yard when she was around 6-8 weeks old.  No sign of a mom or littermates, that nice family took her in while she got her shots, etc. and then she was put up for adoption with Fat Katz.  Kevin and I went to an adoption event the previous weekend and fell in love with her calm, sweet disposition.  It was kismet – the first time we’d been out to look at kittens coupled with the first time she’d been placed in an adoption event. We completed the application to adopt her on Monday and got the word on Wednesday that we’d been approved.

Right now Rue is in Kevin’s office at home with the door shut – her safe room.  She’s settling right in and has proven to be very, very sweet.  She has a hearty appetite, is drinking water regularly, and found the litter box just fine.  She has Kiki’s gentle disposition, but she’s also Flo’s spirit child – jumping onto high shelves and finagling her way through closed closet doors.

Kiki is still trying to figure out exactly how much this new roomie is going to shift her world.  When we brought Rue home in the crate, she and Kiki stared at each other for awhile.  Rue meowed {we translated that to, “Hi, I’m Rue.”} and Kiki hissed {loosely translated:  “I’m Kiki and I run this place.”}  But thus far, Kiki isn’t hissing at Kevin and me when we smell like Rue, so we’re optimistic that they’ll become friends soon after they have the run of the house together.

How did your first pet react to the arrival of a second pet?  How many holiday parties are you hitting this season? 

11 thoughts on “Sweekend.

  1. Oh my goodness!! How EXCITING! Rue is adorable…are you a Hunger Games fan? That’s the first thing I thought of when I heard the name. It will take a little time, but I bet Kiki will warm up to her eventually. Congratulations!

  2. RUE!!! I’m obsessed!! She looks like my black kitty. Thankfully my older cat is SO chill that when I brought the black beast home old man was super chill. I think having a kitten come to the house of an older cat is ideal.

  3. Oh, how adorable she is! And the name – LOVE it! A tribute to a fallen tribute.
    Massages are heaven, and the perfect gift – especially when you treat yourself, too! Everybody is relaxed and happy afterwards, it’s a win/win.

  4. christmas party bash after a massage? sounds like a perfect day. isn’t it nice when events happen to fall on celebratory occasions? my friend got married on my birthday last year, and it was so so so fun to finish the day watching her say I DO.

  5. Pingback: 14 in ’14. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

