Accents. In vlog.

Now for my second vlog.  The first one can be found here.  At this rate, I’m on track to make vlogging an annual thing.

And that’s about as often as it needs to occur.  #awkward

You’ll have to turn the volume up.  I’m soft spoken and we’re just keepin’ it real.  Also – spoiler alert – there is an abrupt ending because the iPhone prioritized ringing for an incoming call over recording.  It was just meant to be that way, I guess. I’m not tech savvy enough to do splicing of video clips, so this was a one-take wonder and it’ll do, Pig, it’ll do.

Today, let’s talk about accents.

I know you’ve seen the accent vlogs before, and maybe you’ve even done one yourself.  These are the standard words and questions that are used:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shape body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

 

Because this goes along with the subject, here are some words/phrases/accents that you would hear if you visited some cities/neighborhoods in New Mexico:

 

And there’s a follow up:

 

Do you consider yourself to have an accent?  Are there any words or phrases that are especially common in your town/state/country?  Have you done the accent vlog?  If so, link to it in the comments!

14 thoughts on “Accents. In vlog.

  1. I find it very interesting that we use different words for some of these despite being brought up I the same state. For example, I always say coke. Never soda. I also call the contraption at the grocery store a basket. I, too, didn’t know there was a word for it raining when the sun shines. And that girl with the NM videos cracks me up. “What do you mean Marty ain’t the mayor no more? He’s always the mayor.”

  2. i guess i didn’t see your first vlog because i pressed play and was surprised by how friendly + warm you come across on camera. should i be surprised? no, of course not – you come across the same way in your writing. still, i want to walk into the video and give you a tea and chat about books and pictures and pets and husbands. i suppose that’s mostly what we blog about anyway, huh? and i hadn’t heard about the accent vlogs, but your ‘soda’ got me thinking – i said soda when i lived in arizona, but now that i’ve been in the midwest for 5 good years, well, it’s pop!

  3. LOVED this! And I’ve never done the accent vlog, so it really makes me want to do one now!! :)
    You sound just as friendly and warm as I knew you would! Did I yet say that I LOVED this?? :)

    I have one more question for you! What do you call a drinking area that has water for thirsty people passing by? When I went to school in Florida, all the students made fun of me, because I called it a ‘water bubbler’ and they knew it as ‘water fountain’! Ha, ha.
    AND out here in New England, instead of usually calling it a ‘shopping cart’, we call it a ‘shopping carriage’. Down in Florida, my friends called it a ‘shopping buggy’!
    It’s so interesting to hear how people’s accents come into play! :)

  4. To me, it does not sound like you have an accent at all. The only words I say differently are pop (Eric makes fun of me), and I have always called gym shoes tennis shoes, and I don’t think I have ever heard anyone call a remote control a clicker! Funny. Also, you are a natural on camera. I get awkward just imagining myself do (another) blog.

  5. It is so fun to see you on video and hear your voice! I agree with some of the others here, and I would say that you seem to have a non-accent (or for our friends around the globe, I would say you sound like a “typical American” which probably made it easier for them to understand you when you lived in China! When we lived there, I could try to turn it up and talk extra southern to Justin if I wanted to deliver a “secret” message to him when we were in the company of others, and it was like I was speaking in code). I’m intrigued by the vlogging concept, but I’m just not sure I’m ready to do it. I hate being on video! But I don’t mind uploading videos of Baby Jake-ha! :-)

  6. a very delayed PS – i met kelsey the other day (she recognized me from the blog and came over to say hello) and she’s just as nice and sweet as you described. we spent a good 5 minutes chatting about how lovely you are :)

  7. I love these vlogs bahaha. I also love those additional videos. You are too cute, and watching you talk makes me feel like we are real life friends. Does that make sense? HA.

  8. Love this! I’m always so curious what people sound like and you are exactly as I imagined only… more mature. haha! You’re like a real grown up! How the hell did that happen?! ;)

  9. I love accent vlogs!! Yours is too cute. The only things I say differently are “pop” instead of soda, and New OrLEEENS instead of New ORlands (no clue if my horrible attempt to spell pronunciations makes sense haha.)

    • Okay I’m back after watching this. I’m so behind in reading blogs right now :)
      Anywayyyy…. you didn’t sound like you had too much of an accent, at least compared to me. I think we should start buggy (buggie?) as a thing for sure. Also, is there a word for it when the sun is shining and it rains? Cuz I didn’t know that was a thing. I did chuckle at clicker. Haha!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

