My first blate.

Blogging is such an interesting hobby.  Is hobby the right word?  I began blogging because I like to write and I like the idea of documenting some of the happenings in my world.  Most people I know in “real life” don’t know that I blog.  So I just kind of expected this little space on the internet to be something for me.

I am in awe of how much more it has become.  That more is defined by the online friendships I have made with other bloggers.  The comments and emails and snail mail from blogger friends are such a joy.  Kevin is now unfazed by the {daily} remarks about this blog friend’s vacation or that blog friend’s baby shower photos.  That blog friend’s pet and this blog friend’s recipe recommendation.  I speak of these people like they are part of my everyday – and they (YOU!) are.  We may not be able to grab a cuppa tea or a cupcake together, but the connections are real.

2014 began with me vowing to take the friendship with at least one blogger off screen and into real life.  I wanted to go on a blate (blogger + date).  Throughout the year, I showed Kevin blogs written by gals that I want to meet so that he would develop a sense of confidence in the idea that the person his wife was jaunting off to meet was not, in fact, a serial killer with a wildly fabricated website.  He begrudgingly admitted that these folks were probably perfectly nice and normal.  And as fate would have it, the stars aligned for Jenny from Jeneric Generation and I to meet in Oklahoma City.

After I dropped Kevin at the airport – he had to fly to Denver for work – I headed to Orange Leaf, a frozen yogurt place, to meet Jenny.  I arrived first and studiously focused on my Sudoku puzzle – totally playing it cool with my casual glances at the door every time someone walked into the shop.  A bit nervous, thoughts like, “Hug?  No hug?” flittered through my mind.

Jenny arrived (we hugged – it felt right) and we instantly hit it off!  She is just as smart and sweet and genuine as her writing implies.  We chatted about blogging and Oklahoma State (our time at the school overlapped by a few semesters) and moving and jobs and families (she announced it on her blog earlier this week – she and her husband are expecting their first baby!  Congrats to them!).  Then we headed to Half Price Books and managed to keep each other from buying half the store.  A fellow fan of the books, it was so fun to walk around the store and exchange recommendations.  Harry Potter was an important conversation topic, as he always should be, really.

IMG_8076

Three hours passed quickly in the company of a kindred spirit and soon it was time for me to head to the airport {where the plane I was on had mechanical issues and didn’t take off until two hours after it was supposed to, resulting in a missed connection and therefore, a night in a hotel room in Dallas.  Sidenote.}.

Jenny, thanks for the afternoon – I had a blast!

And I’m already plotting my next blate.  Perhaps a cross-country/continent trip is in order?

Have you gone on a blate?  What is your favorite thing about blogging? 

11 thoughts on “My first blate.

  1. How FUN! :) I hope that someday you find yourself in my neck of the woods, as I would LOVE to go on a blate with you!! (It’s actually on my bucket list to meet up with a bloggy friend, although I’d love to meet so much more than one. It’s amazing how close we all become as we read each other’s blogs)!

  2. The two blates I’ve gone on as well have been like this! It’s so fun to feel like old friends at first meet :) You know if you ever come east, I’ll be grabbing you for a tea and Harry Potter talk! :)

  3. This post warmed my heart! I can’t think of a less cheesy way to say it. That is so funny that you had to convince Kevin that bloggers are not serial killers. Eric kept saying that I was going to meet someone who was probably after him (to kill him, naturally). I think he is safely convinced now that bloggers are not killers (what a relief). Also, I was wondering about a hug, too! But as you said, it did feel right. I think a few years ago, meeting up with a stranger might have been outside my comfort zone. I am SO glad we did this. I have a feeling it won’t be the last time!

  4. Jenny is gorgeous! Sounds like the perfect “blate” (that word kills me haha). But I have to ask… you didn’t get froyo?!?!?!?

    When I was a teenager, I met two people in-person who I had met online in chat rooms. That wasn’t super normal back then and it’s even stranger now. (We’re actually still in touch!) But a blog friend, I think, is different from a random chat room friend. Infinitely better!

  5. i’ve been blating a bit lately, and i’m no longer surprise by how natural the connections seem – a mutual love for writing and, most likely, creative endeavors (cooking, photography, crafting, what-have-you)? done & done. glad you had fun with jenny, and kinda (okay mega) wish i could have been at the bookstore with you gals <3

  6. I have yet to go on my first blate, because I’m a bit terrified. “What if it will be awkward”, “What if I don’t know what to say”, “What if she thinks I’m weird” are the thoughts that tun through my head. But seeing how well your and Jenny’s went is very encouraging! Reading these comments here is as well, it seems the unanimous opinion is that it feels like meeting an old friend. It has to happen Amy!

  7. How fun that you got to meet a blog friend in real life!! I have not yet had that experience…blogging doesn’t seem to be that common around where I live. Hopefully someday though!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

