30 by 30 – Third quarter update.

Three-quarters of my 29th year has now passed and it has been packed to the brim.

Now for the 30-by-30 update graph:

30 by 30 3rd Quarter Progress Update Graph

As you can see from the list of boooooooks on #7 below, I have far surpassed my reading goal, which was 24 books.  There is now a revised goal of 48.    I guess I like to read….  Volunteer hours may seem a little low, but I know I’ll be volunteering a lot this fall, so I’m not worried about meeting that one.

Regarding the remaining items on the list – things are mostly under control for this stage of the game.  I’m most worried about making it to the Grand Canyon this year.  I may go to the South Rim, which is open year round, in December.  I also need to pick up the pace on the journal entries.

1. Find a flattering (key word) red lipstick.

With the help of an expert lipstick consultant, Leann, I discovered Brave Red at MAC.  The name is quite fitting, and I love the color!

image

2. Sit at a floor table for dinner at Pars (a Greek restaurant). 

Kevin and I met up with two of our good friends at Pars for dinner in January. Not only did we sit at a floor table, but it was also a belly dancer night.  Kevin and I find the belly dancer nights to be a bit awkward, so we try to avoid them.  But it seemed appropriate that we had the full experience at the floor table.  I love Pars, but I’ll stick to regular tables.  I’m not an especially tall person and my legs were aching by the end of dinner, crammed under that low table!

Pars with K & N - January 2014.

Pars with K & N – January 2014.

 3. Buy a designer purse for myself.

I bought one.  And I love it.  But I’m also struggling with a case of buyer’s remorse.  It is just so expensive.  Thus far, its life with Amy has been spent in the closet, tags and wrappings still intact.  I reserve the right to return and find something, umm, less pricey.  Like a wallet.

Update:  I returned the purse that I’d originally purchased (see the 2nd Quarter update post for a picture), and found another one that I love so much more.  It was still a lot to spend on a purse and I don’t foresee myself regularly purchasing designer purses, but I do really like it.

image

4. Fund IRA for year.

5. Plan and execute a surprise date.

Read about it here.  It involved choose-your-own-adventure kind of fun and included sushi, bookstore, and game night at home.

image

6. 52 hours of volunteer work. 23/52

4 hours – El Ranchitos de Los Ninos
5 hours – Chocolate Fantasy gala
3 hours – Charity Cruise gala clean up
3 hours – JL rummage sale to benefit Henderson House
1 hour – official HUG card writer for JL
4 hours – The Storehouse
3 hours – The Curiosity Collaboration

7. Read 48 books. 41/48

1) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – 4 stars
2) Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – 4 stars
3) Anne of Windy Poplars – 4 stars
4) The Fault In Our Stars – 4 stars
5) Devil In The White City – 4 stars
6) Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – 5 stars
7) The Silver Star – 3 stars
8) Princess Academy – 4 stars
9) Divergent – 4 stars
10) Roots of Empathy:  Changing the World Child by Child – 4 stars
11) Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister – 3 stars
12) The Husband’s Secret – 4 stars
13) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – 4 stars
14) Breakfast at Tiffany’s – 4 stars
15) Me Before You – 4 stars
16) The Paris Wife – 3 stars
17) The Other Typist – 3 stars
18) The Last Summer (of You & Me) – 3 stars
19) Her Fearful Symmetry – 3 stars
20) Heart and Soul – 3 stars
21) I’ll Walk Alone – 2 stars
22) My Name is Memory – 3 stars
23) Dollface – 4 stars
24) The Giver – 5 stars
25) MWF Seeking BFF – 4 stars
26) Sisters of Treason – 4 stars
27) I’ve Got Your Number – 5 stars
28) Girls In White Dresses – 3 stars
29) The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets – 4 stars
30) Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour – 5 stars
31) Lessons From Madam Chic – 4 stars
32) The Happiness Advantage – 4 stars
33) Paris in Love – 3 stars
34) Night Diver – 2 stars
35) Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?  (And Other Concerns) – 3 stars
36) Life After Life – 4 stars
37) The Hobbit – 3 stars
38) The Girl You Left Behind – 3 stars
39) Gathering Blue – 4 stars
40) The Paris Architect – 4 stars
41) Remember Me? – 3 stars

8. Take Kevin to an OK State football game.

Blog post coming soon with details about how much Kevin LOVED Stillwater, the football stadium, and the Oklahoma State campus as a whole.

IMG_8018

9. Send 24 just-because letters or gifts to friends. 19/24

10. Go on a blate – with a blog friend that I have not yet met in person.

Stay tuned for a post about my blate (blogger + date) with the lovely Jenny over at Jeneric Generation.

IMG_8076

11. Complete the Photo-A-Day challenge following Fat Mum Slim’s prompts. 273/365

12. Run a 5K.

13. Host a murder mystery dinner party.

image

14. Visit the Grand Canyon.

15. Weekend trip with my mom and sister.

Schedules being what they are, we didn’t manage to get away for a full weekend of fun at the Grand Canyon or Vegas (two ideas we’d tossed around).  But we did enjoy an excursion to some local petroglyphs.  The adventure is recapped in full here.

Mom and Lisa

16. Attend three theatre events or concerts. 4/3

1) Jim Gaffigan – 3/13/2014

Pre- Jim G. smiles on 3/13/2014.

Pre- Jim G. smiles on 3/13/2014.

 2) Avril Lavigne and Backstreet Boys – 6/2/2014

Pre-gaming on the lawn before BSB and Avril hit the stage!

Pre-gaming on the lawn before BSB and Avril hit the stage!

 3) Impulse dance show – 8/8/2014

image

4) Wicked:  The Musical – 9/18/2014

image17. Attend one of Meta’s weekend yoga retreats OR attend one yoga class a day for seven consecutive days {just in case the weekend retreat options don’t work out}.

The weekend yoga retreat didn’t work out, but the seven days of yoga did!  Read about it here.

Day 1 – 7:30 AM – hot yoga with Meta at a local studio
Day 2 – 5:30 PM – yoga at my gym
Day 3 – 7:30 AM – hot yoga at a local studio
Day 4 – 10:00 AM – Meditation class and practice at the city museum with Leann and Katie
Day 5 – 11:15 AM – hot yoga at a local studio
Day 6 – 5:30 PM – yoga at my gym
Day 7 – 9:30 PM – cosmic hot yoga with Meta at a local studio

18. Take a train ride.

I made the trip to Santa Fe on the Railrunner for a work event.  Like Sheldon, I do love trains.

image

19. Spend a morning shooting guns (including the one I inherited from my dad) with my friend Tom C.

20. Take a dance class.

21. Go see Vanilla Pop play.

Vanilla Pop with the ladies on 6/6/2014.

Vanilla Pop with the ladies on 6/6/2014.

 22. Cook 15 new recipes. 17/15

1) Melt-in-your-mouth baked chicken – recipe
2) Spaghetti squash in the crockpot – recipe (if it can even be called that)
3) Swiss chard with honey roasted garlic – recipe
4) Slow-cooker beef brisket – no real ‘recipe’ but I’d never made this before, so I’m countin’ it – just cooked a beef brisket (seasoned with McCormick steak seasoning), a can of cream of mushroom soup, a chopped onion, sliced mushrooms, and four cups of beef broth in the slow cooker on the low setting for 7 hours
5) Dairy free pesto – recipe (the first time I made this, it was a complete FAIL because I over-toasted {read:  burned} the pine nuts and the pesto tasted burnt and gross)
6) S’mores treats – recipe
7) Mediterranean Orzo salad – no official recipe to share (cooked whole wheat orzo, kalamata olives, grape tomatoes, spinach, olive oil and lemon dressing seasoned with salt and pepper, and feta cheese)
8) Jalapeno cheese dip – recipe (slight variation from recipe:  I used a different brand of jalapeno dip seasoning.  It was still a hit with the family at Easter.)
9) Slow cooker brown sugar glazed pulled chicken – recipe (I didn’t have soy sauce so I used a Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce instead.  It was still tasty.)
10) Asparagus and ham sandwiches – recipe
11) Greek chicken – recipe (we did bake rather than grill, unlike the recipe)
12) Slow Cooker Ground Beef Lasagna Soup – recipe
13) Mediterranean Quinoa Salad – recipe
14) Lemon & Garlic Chicken – recipe
15) Steak Parmesan – recipe (made a few adjustments but followed the general recipe)
16) One Pot Zucchini Mushroom Pasta – recipe
17) Kale Chicken – recipe

23. Go on twelve date nights. 12+/12
(This one has proven difficult to track because Kevin and I go out to dinner at least once a week and every dinner out feels like a date!  But for the purposes of this 30-by-30 list item, I counted assorted nights that felt especially special.  Let’s just say that we far exceeded 12 dates!)

24. Enroll in a continuing education class.

Attended a HIPAA class on 2/18/2014.

25. Send twelve More Love Letters notes. 12/12

26. Take tea in a tearoom – topped off (haha!) with a fancy hat, naturally. 2/1

Tea with new work friends at Figments on 3/22/2014.

Tea with new work friends at Figments on 3/22/2014.

 

Tea with Joy at the Phoenician - 4/25/2014.

Tea with Joy at the Phoenician – 4/25/2014.

27. Journal 52 times. 27/52

28. Assemble a framed travel map.

29. Attend a festival. (Jazz Fest, Lavender Fest, etc. – whatever I happen to stumble into.  The sky’s the limit when it comes to fest-ing.)

I went to the local lavender & garlic festival one weekend in July.  Two of my favorite things under a blue clear sky on a summer day?  Don’t mind if I do.

image

Lavender & Garlic Fest – 7/12/2014

30. Explore a city I’ve never visited before.

Seaside in San Diego - June 2014.

Seaside in San Diego – June 2014.

12 thoughts on “30 by 30 – Third quarter update.

  1. It’s ridiculously impressive how much you’ve been able to do. My favorite part, however, is the reference to Sheldon. I do hope that you actually left the train station. And that you kept track of what kind of Ketchup they had at the hot dog stand. You know, for the game.

  2. I’m so sad I wasn’t around for your blogger date! I hope you both had fun. DANG IT! You’re making good progress. Visit the GC is on my list too, and I need to make it out there. We need to make it happen!

  3. You are a busy lady! But I don’t think you are giving yourself enough credit for volunteer hours – remember all that new member advising? Eek!

    Also: You and Kevin should take a Lindy hop class, and you should blog about it because that would be the best thing ever!

  4. That’s so impressive!! Well done Amy! I’ve done dance classes before, and it was a bit of a disaster. Turns out I’m not very coordinated. I’m sure you’ll do better! Your book list is inspiring, I know (and love) about half of the books on it, I think I will tackle the other half. We seem to have similar taste in books! Good luck with the rest on your list (not that you need it) – you got this!

  5. I love the color of that bag!

    This is perfect timing. Not like you planned it but I am currently revisiting my brainstormed list of 30-before-30 items and since I’m already three weeks behind, I need to get on it. Thanks for the refresher and reminder!

  6. I just turned 18, so I HAVE to try this! You’ve done so much. This is such a great way to make each and every year count. On an off note, that red lipstick looks fabulous on you! I need to find one for me! :)

  7. Pingback: 30 by 30 – Fourth {and final!} quarter update. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

