Sweekend.

What do burgers, volunteering, football, Mexican food, French toast, Harry Potter, Gone With The Wind, and WWI books have in common?

Well.  Probably nothing.  EXCEPT my recent weekend included all of them.

On Friday night we went to the Little Red Hamburger Hut for dinner.  Kevin had the red chile, I had the green.  We were each delighted with our choice.

Saturday morning I trekked to a local food pantry to do a little volunteering.  Always humbling and sometimes heart wrenching, volunteerism fills my heart with thankfulness for the blessings in my life.

IMG_7963-0

Kevin was coaching that afternoon and I headed to the game after running a few errands.  It was a tough loss – the team played well against a larger team of bigger guys.

IMG_7951

We enjoyed a Mexican fiesta of food at a local favorite and then relaxed at home for the evening.

IMG_7956

On Sunday morning, we met my great-aunts and great-uncles for breakfast (I had the French toast), and then we watched the third Harry Potter movie.  As a Harry Potter update, Kevin recently finished the final book and he is in series mourning, much like I was when I reached the end.

The afternoon brought the TCM special presentation of Gone With The Wind in honor of the movie’s 75th anniversary.

IMG_7960

It was heartening to see a completely full theatre for the showing of  4 hour movie that is 75 years old.  As Scarlett and Rhett and Melanie and Ashley were brought to life by the talented performers, I couldn’t help thinking about the difference between movies then and movies now.  Oh how far we’ve fallen.  {This was reinforced by the sounds creeping through the wall of an adjoining theatre – fast pulsing music, car wheels squealing and engines revving, explosions….  I don’t know what movie it was and I don’t need to – it was a sad comparison to the writing and acting on the screen in front of me.}

I picked up pizza and sandwiches for dinner and we ended the weekend with some Curb Your Enthusiasm (have you seen it?  Think The Office and Seinfeld, combined.) and some reading.  I finished The Girl You Left Behind (3 stars) and Kevin started The Road to 1914:  The War to End All Wars.

How was your weekend?  Do you like old movies like Gone With The Wind

 

8 thoughts on “Sweekend.

  1. Okay, please don’t hate me: I’ve never seen Gone with the Wind! Ah! I know, right? Terrible. But it is good that the theater was full. And that Mexican food. I don’t know if I will ever get sick of Mexican. It’s just so good. Glad you had a good weekend! Sounds like it was very full :)

  2. Good for you! Volunteering is SO important, and I always find that it also greatly impacts those who volunteer… not just those who are being helped!
    And I haven’t watched ‘Gone with the Wind’ for years, but I really need to soon (especially since my hubby has never watched it before). Have you ever read the book? Most people hate it, because it’s so wordy. But I’m such a nerd, and I loved it. Ha, ha. Yes, I’ve read it about 3 times now… :)

  3. I LOVE Gone with the Wind and just told my husband the other day that I’m going to force him to watch it with me soon. SO GOOD! What age does your husband coach? My husband coaches football too. I’m always so entertained by the games.

  4. I love Gone with the Wind!! I grew up on it and you’re so right about the quality of acting! A friend of mine recently told me that she wanted to name her daughter Scarlett and I kind of loved that. I mean, I know she isn’t exactly a character to model yourself after for a lot of the movie, but she does have a lot of heart and passion. Anyway, love that movie! :)

    Also, so sorry to hear Kevin is now in HP series mourning mode. It’s a tough one to get through for sure.

    And finally, I love your big heart. I’m sure you blessed many lives that day with your friendly smile and sweetness. :)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

