Sweekend.

It was a sweekend of good food and company – does it get much better than that?

Friday:

We usually don’t feel like cooking on Friday night.  Last Friday was no exception, so Domino’s to the rescue!  They delivered our piping hot ham and pineapple pizza and an order of pineapple and jalapeno chicken right to the door.  It was tasty.  {On Friday nights I sometimes wish I lived in a larger city – one that has more than pizza to offer as delivery.  I loved having yang zhou chi fan (fried rice) delivered when I lived in China.}

Saturday:

We sat out on the back patio on Saturday morning, enjoying the sight and sound of our new water feature.  It was installed last week, and we’re really enjoying it!  With books and that relaxing atmosphere, the day started out quite lovely.

image

Then we had to make ourselves presentable to the public and meet some friends for brunch.  We tried a new place and loved it.  The atmosphere, the food, the cappuccino (oh yum), and most importantly, the company of our sweet friends.

image

I had decided that Saturday night was THE night for a surprise date for my wonderful husband.  It’s an item on the ol’ 30-by-30 list, and I was excited for it.  Especially when my girl Janelle shared an awesome idea about designing a choose-your-own-adventure kind of date.  I presented Kevin with the plan and he had the afternoon to think about what he wanted to do.

image

Ultimately he chose sushi at Sumo, a trip to a local, independent bookstore, and a game night at home.  (Those happened to be exactly the items that I was hoping he’d choose!  Soul, meet mate.)  It was so much fun.  We had our favorite sushi rolls at our favorite sushi restaurant.  Then we made our way to the bookstore and perused for a bit.  I even bought him a book for date night (I know how to spoil my man).  Then we grabbed dessert at a local spot that is known for it’s amazing, decadent cakes and pies.  We took that home and enjoyed it with a couple of games of Yahtzee in the company of our good Kiki.  It was really such a lovely evening.  I am so grateful for Kevin.  He is caring and supportive and funny.  I have so much fun with him.

image

image

image

image

I also wore a crop top, which felt quite scandalous.

Sunday:

On Sunday, I went to breakfast with my great aunt and two great uncles.  Kevin had to stay home to work, poor fella.  We had a great time.  Then I took my car to the car spa for a wash.  She cleaned up nice.  I read and did laundry for the rest of the morning and early afternoon.  We took a walk around the neighborhood mid-afternoon, and then watched the Broncos play.

We went to dinner at Kevin’s parents house and it was delicious and fun, as always.  They are moving in the next few weeks, and Kevin needed to go through some stuff that they have been storing for him.  It was a trip down memory lane for all of them.  Kevin was a budding artist as a child and I loved seeing his masterpiece drawings!

Sweekend indeed.

How was your weekend?  Do you enjoy looking at old art pieces from when you were young?  Is it hard for you to part with those items or do you separate easily? 

9 thoughts on “Sweekend.

  1. Whoa! I need to have this style of weekend. How did Kevin feel about the surprise date? Our men picked almost the exact same date (sushi, bookstore, dessert) although I wish my date had included Yahtzee! Who won?? And how are Kevin’s chopstick skills? Did he learn his skills from you?

  2. That ‘Pick a Date’ idea is absolutely perfect, and I may have to borrow it from you and Janelle!! :) I’ve been wanting to do something special for my hubs!! That pizza sounds amazing, right about now. Ha, ha. AND I love that water fountain! How relaxing!!! (Last but not least, you are totally rocking that crop-top). :)

  3. I struggle letting go of things, but I have gotten SO much better over the last few years. Sometimes it takes a solid 5 minutes staring at something to decided I really don’t need it haha. What a fun weekend, and I love your sassy half shirt!!

  4. Aww, I loved seeing Christopher’s old art work when we cleaned out his parents’ storage unit earlier this summer. We kept a notebook of his drawings to show our kids someday. :)

    Also, all that sushi looks absolutely amazing! We had sushi over the weekend and I just couldn’t get enough of it! Love that you guys are just so perfect for each other. So sweet. :)

  5. Your date night sounds so fun – love that it includes the bookstore :) And you are definitely pulling off the crop top!

    I definitely keep school stuff from when I was a little kid. I just like the idea of having something from back then – makes it feel more real, rather than just a foggy memory. I’m starting to go through a lot of my old stuff and found that I really need to be more selective or I’ll just keep everything!

  6. Pingback: 30 by 30 – Third quarter update. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

