Current obsessions.

Every once in awhile, there’s this stroke of genius that flashes – like lightening – immediately followed by an euphoric feeling that makes everything seem right in the world.  I like to imagine the guy who invented sliced bread feeling like that.  You know he gave himself a high five.  I had one of those moments the other day when I realized that I could cook a spaghetti squash in the crock pot.  {Of course, I’m not the first to have this idea. Just ask Google.}  Play a game of sword in the squash (no one likes to clean up exploded squash) and add a few cups of water to the crock pot.  Steam the squash on low for 4-6 hours.  We mixed it with sautéed onions, garlic, cherry tomatoes, and kalamata olives.  And chicken – grilled on the Panini press.  I love meals made quick and easy by fun kitchen gadgets and appliances.

image

I transport myself to summer by using coconut oil after I wash my face each night.  It smells so yummy and I fall asleep with images of palm trees and pina colada’s dancing in my head.

image

The bathroom vanity was recently upgraded with the purchase of two divider baskets at Pier 1 Imports.  One on Kevin’s side and one on mine.  Now our miscellaneous bathroom vanity odds and ends are organized and contained within the wicker.

image

There are times when connecting with friends is especially special.  I’ve had some lovely lunches and happy hours and mid-afternoon red velvet cake meet-ups.  Including one with the other Amy for the first time since 2009.

image

I’m always obsessed with these cats.  And when they sit close enough to one another to fit in the same photo frame?  Well, my cup runneth over.

image

The majority of this week has been sunny and gorgeous, which leaves me obsessed with the idea that spring is coming.  I obviously have no right to complain about how a chilly breeze caused the mercury to stay in the 40’s yesterday since snow storm after snow storm has blanketed many parts of the country.  The photos are breathtakingly beautiful, really.  There is something so peaceful in how the snow rests on the branches of an evergreen. Last night I told Kevin, in my bravest voice, that I could live in a cold place if he wanted to move {he dislikes the hot summers here}.  He laughed, patted my head, and replied, “You could.  But you would be so sad.”  He’s right.  I’m obsessed with the hot, dry climate.

What are you obsessed with currently?  What’s the weather in your corner of the world?

18 thoughts on “Current obsessions.

  1. I need to get on your level. That squash on a panini press-where the heck have I been? Organizers for the bathroom… um why I have lived so long without this?

    Haha too cute on telling him you’d be okay with moving to the cold. Where we’re at visiting this week (my hometown) it’s VERY cold. Today it’s windy with gusts of snow, icy and 9 degrees. The ridiculous part is I love it. Probably how you love the hot :)

  2. I have never thought to steam spaghetti squash in the crockpot, and I think you’re brilliant for at least discovering it for yourself… and then sharing it here! :) Nate and I love the stuff, but I hate that it takes so long to bake in the oven. I definitely would prefer to stick it in the crockpot hours before I need it… and then to have it ready for dinner!! Also, all of your current obsessions sound amazing. I’ll bet the coconut oil smells absolutely fabulous. And as for the weather, well, you know what mine is like these days… Snow, snow, SNOW! I am so ready for warm spring to come back. :)

  3. Bhahaha! I love that he laughed at you and patted your head. Christopher would say the exact same thing about me if I ever said something like that. In fact, when we talk about places in the world that we might move he always points out to me how sad I would be in the winter if we were any further north of where we are now. ;)

    Also, the kitties together = win!

    And I have a friend who uses coconut oil for EVERYTHING! She swears by it. I’ve cooked with it, but that’s about it so far.

    Putting the spaghetti squash in the slow cooker is a brilliant idea! I should try that. :)

  4. That spaghetti squash sounds like a good dinner, especially for gardeners because you could grow most of it! I’d say my current obsession is our rabbits. We are preparing to breed our two does. So I’ve been obsessed with rabbit information. Little Miss is also fairly obsessed with chasing them. Sonny doesn’t know they’re alive but he’s got a major Mickey Mouse obsession. And my husband is obsessed with getting his garden ready for spring. The other day he told me he had 1,000 potential pounds of food in his current seedlings. I don’t think we are planting any spaghetti squash but perhaps I need to talk to him about that.

  5. I have had similar conversations with my husband about moving to a colder climate. My skin is quite thin from living in the south for most of my life. Also, I liked the term “playing sword with the squash” and I’m using it from now on. :)

  6. Bahaha I love the kitties in the same frame, I also get way excited when I have that photo opportunity!! I haven’t had a SINGLE spag squash all fall/winter. WHAAAT?!

  7. haha I gave up on spaghetti squash. Too many opportunities for injury! The knife, the steam, etc. I think I am genetically predisposed to kitchen injuries. You should see my Mom in the kitchen!

    Couldn’t you just stick your face in coconut oil all day long? I don’t even like coconut but coconut oil is totally different. If I drowned in a giant tub of coconut oil, I’d die happy. That’s a bad way to go but at least my last sniffs would be a heavenly aroma!

    You’re a good wife. Dang. John always mentions moving south and I don’t even give it two seconds of thought before the “NO!” is coming out of my mouth. I would be miserable in heat, which would make him miserable, and then no one would be happy. Do you really think you guys might move some time? Somewhere where both of you are happy with the climate?

  8. are you serious!? i love love love squash but stopped eating it years ago because it was too hard to open/cook – this is genius! almost as genius as mid-afternoon red velvet cake meet-ups — i need to start some of those!

  9. Aw such happy things…especially when your kitten kids get along. :) Love it. And I think I might have to start putting coconut oil on just to bring on the summer feeling!!

  10. Two things I love about this post: spaghetti squash and coconut oil. I recently became obsessed with the possibilities of spaghetti squash, however, I still have yet to learn the possibilities of a crock pot (as in, I need to buy one!). You are just making me realize how much I need one in my life even more. I use coconut oil for EVERYTHING. I can’t get enough of the stuff.

  11. Pingback: 30 by 30 – First quarter update. | A Desert Girl

  12. Pingback: 30 by 30 – Second quarter update. | A Desert Girl

  13. Pingback: 30 by 30 – Third quarter update. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

