Takin’ pills.

In general, I try to avoid medication.  I don’t know much on the subject, but I’m interested in holistic remedies.  I find aromatherapy fascinating, and I want to start a collection of essential oils and learn how to use them for the common aches and pains.  When I have a headache, I usually fight through it and avoid even Advil when possible.  I firmly believe that, “Food can be the best form of medicine or the slowest form of poison.”  And I believe that steady water consumption is one of the best things we can offer our bodies. I believe in moderation.

I am the first to admit that I’m not the best at this.  It was just within the last year that I actually started taking vitamins that weren’t gummy textured and chewable.  I don’t drink nearly as much water as I should (I think I’m part cactus – I just don’t feel thirsty very often) and I am more fond of French fries dipped in Ranch dressing than most other food options.  But I am good at the moderation part.  {Unless you give me a bag of Mint 3 Musketeer bars – I will inhale ALL OF IT in mere minutes.}  With the exception of said M3M overindulgence and my love for sweet tea, I don’t consume many sweets, and I usually have leftovers on my plate for the following day.  I like veggies more than meats.  But not more than carbs.  I love carbs.

When I’m feeling run-down, I’ll take two teaspoons of elderberry syrup, which I have found to be quite effective for me this winter.

My daily vitamin regime is as follows:

  • Gummy multi-vitamins
  • Vitamin D
  • Biotin
  • Super B Complex
  • Concentrated fish oil pill

This approach works pretty well for me, physically and mentally.  That is, of course, until I’m sick.  Like I was for a couple of days following Christmas.  And then I’m all, “GIVE ME THE MEDICINE!  GIVE ME ALLLLLLL OF THE MEDICINE!”

Do you take vitamins?  What remedies do you seek when you’re feeling sick?

7 thoughts on “Takin’ pills.

  1. I have a friend who does the essential oils. My husband isn’t too crazy about that idea, though, so I haven’t ventured too far into it. I don’t take meds unless I absolutely have to because I build up a resistance like no one else I know. I mean, I am allergic to most antibiotics and the ones I can take I can only do like once a year before I build up a resistance. Pain killing meds don’t work very well either. I take vitamins prescribed by the doctor (they are prenatal even though I’m not pregnant. After my miscarriage, the doctor told me I need to continue taking them).

  2. Love you approach at moderation and balance. I am just like you, I’m healthy but like junk and medicine when need be. Heck I’m going to be a nurse. I take vitamins about once a week maybe but usually calcium everyday as women REALLY need a lot of calcium and the multivitamin doesn’t give the full daily requirement. When I’m sick I drink hottttt stuff (kills bacteria), eat healthier and usually pair with some meds just to help my body a little bit with it’s natural flow. Glad you’re feeling better!

  3. I am not a medicine kinda girl. In fact, I could’ve written a lot of this post. I don’t consume many sweets, prefer veggies to meat, and prefer carbs above all. And like you, I don’t drink near enough water, but it’s because I’m not thirsty. I really try to be better! I like that you said you’re part cacti because I feel like that’s a great description of me! Anyway, I drank 50 oz of fluid or more every day last week while I was sick and I felt like I conquered the world! ;)

    In general, I’m a big believer that our bodies can do amazing things if we treat them well. If they are nourished and active. As I get older and more things start to change, I might feel differently about that, but for now I’m all about letting the body do it’s thing. This past sickness was the first time I’d been to a general doctor (well, it wasn’t even a doctor – we went to a healthcare clinic with RNs) since college. I just prefer to let my body get better on it’s own time. This particular time I’m super thankful I went, though! I feel SO much better (even with the side effects of the drugs). :)

  4. YES YES YES!! I am SO against pharmaceuticals and will resist them at all costs! I take B12 every few days (because it’s only found in meat) along with a multi and B complex here and there. I will take Vit D once every week maybe..if that. I just kind of take a few vitamins as I feel necessary, but DEFINITELY get the most of my nutrients from FOOD! When I am in pain..I SUCK IT UP! Although I did take some ibuprofen before a race once to ensure my knee didn’t swell. Otherwise I just try to ride the pain wave.

  5. My husband is the same way! He’ll moan about a headache all day and refuse to take any medicine for it! We come from two very different families when it comes to sickness…In his family, being the least bit ill or taking any medication whatsoever means that you may as well write up your will, because you’re probably dying. My family has survived terrible diseases and they don’t make a big deal about swallowing pills. In fact, if you have a headache, my grandma would be the first to offer you some Hydrocodone leftover from a hip surgery she had last year. ;-)

  6. I need to adopt your attitude. I take way too much ibuprofen for chronic headaches, and I am on a “path” to changing it. I also rely on caffeine way too often. So far, the holistic approach hasn’t helped me, but massages seem to help. Though, I don’t think I can convince Mike that it’s economically feasible to get massages once a week!!

  7. Yes! we are for the most part homeopathic. We do aspirin when we are sick and vitamin but thats pretty much it. I did start working out this past year and now I understand how important having some level of fitness, sleep and water is good for ones soul. :)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

