Year in Review: 13 in ’13

The 2013 chapter has officially declared a hearty, ‘The End.’ And it was a mighty fine year indeed. Here’s a re-cap – 13 in ’13.

1. I married this guy.  We had a picture perfect wedding over Memorial Day weekend in beautiful Roche Harbor, WA, surrounded by our closest family and friends.  It was a dream come true kind of day – except better.

Misc Pictures 647

2. We toured pockets of the Pacific Northwest {Orcas Island, Sidney BC, Victoria BC, Seattle} on our honeymoon.  Nothing but relaxation, delicious food (it was smart to get all married off before I ate my way through every chowder stop in the PNW), and time with each other.  Undoubtedly the best week of my life.

Day 4 - Orcas looking out

3. Labor Day was laborious – we moved into a new house!  But first, there was work to be done.  New floors, new paint colors, new appliances, new bathroom vanity…. Fortunately the work went well and we all – cats included – settled in quickly.

image

image

4. We were lucky enough to get to open the doors to said new house on Thanksgiving, Christmas eve, and Christmas day for celebrations with our families.

5. Kevin treated me to a trip to Phoenix in February to see my all-time favorite comedian, Brian Regan, perform.  He was hilarious!

image (4)

6. There were a few other performances through the year – theatre events and concerts, including the Cinderella ballet, Bart Crow, George Strait and Martina McBride, Alan Jackson, patio jazz at Tom M.’s, a piano recital that my sweet mother-in-law performed in….

7. We traveled to Denver for Kevin’s birthday to celebrate him and watch the Broncos defeat the Titans.

8. I completed my new member year with the Junior League and am currently serving as a new member advisor.  And I still managed to find enough time to attend happy hour after happy hour with my favorite Junior League ladies.  With a book club and wine club meeting thrown in here and there.

9. Tiff and I roadtripped to College Station to get her settled into a new house.

image

10. The wonderful ladies in my life threw me a lovely bridal brunch and an oh-so-fun bachelorette party.

625690_10101126771522802_869385582_n

image

11. Kevin and I traveled to chilly Estes Park for a wedding in April…and then we spent a few extra days in Denver.

image

12. Kevin paid off his car!  And we both funded IRA’s for the year.  Retirement, here we come….  Just give us a few years.

13. I started a new position within the same company in August…and in November I gave my three months notice.  January 31 will mark the end of my six year tenure at a company that has truly shaped my professional self.  It’s bittersweet to leave, of course.  I’m excited for new challenges and opportunities though!

What’s on your 2013 highlight reel?  Happy New Year!

13 thoughts on “Year in Review: 13 in ’13

  1. Wow what a great year! Marriage, house and trips! Yay! And I just love that picture of you two holding hands with your cats on your laps. That makes me happy. :) Happy 2014!!!

  2. I love the way you framed this post. “13 in 13” is a great idea! Your honeymoon sounds amazing, as do the wine and book club meetings. :) Here’s to a great 2014! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

