2013 in Review: What I read.

image

In 2013, I read…

1. The Dry Grass of August

2. The Other Wes Moore

3. The Count of Monte Cristo

4. The Book Thief

5. The Night Circus

6. Gone Girl

7. In the Garden of Beasts

8. The Dressmaker

9. Heidi

10. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

11. The Longest Ride

12. Anne of Green Gables (re-read)

13. Anne of Avonlea (re-read)

14. Anne of the Island

15. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

16. A Week In Winter

17. The Casual Vacancy

18. The Great Gatsby

19. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

20. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

21. Catching Fire (re-read)

22. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

23. Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

There were also four or five Three Investigator books mixed in there – I just can’t remember which ones I read this year.

The titles in bold are the ones I gave 5 stars to on Goodreads.  As you can see, that high accolade was given only to a couple of Harry Potter’s  and Anne of Green Gables.  Lots of four stars out there though (those are the underlined titles). Really, are Mr. Potter and The Count of Monte Cristo even on the same playing field?  Probably not….  But that’s the beauty of books – you can choose long-and-classically-woeful or short-and-easy reads.  Pure fiction, fiction based on fact, or facts-facts-nothing-but-facts.  Books are the great escape and the great educator, whatever you’re looking for at any given time.

Currently reading: the fourth Harry Potter book and Anne of Windy Poplars Oh and I’m listening to The Fault in Our Stars on Audible.

What did you read this year?  Any favorites that I need to check out?

7 thoughts on “2013 in Review: What I read.

  1. Yay for reading! I love learning about good books from people I know (is it weird that I’m saying I know you, even though we’ve never met?!). I didn’t read too many five-star books this year, but there were a few I can’t wait to post about soon, as I’m going to be doing a post similar to yours! Harry Potter books definitely deserve five stars!!

  2. I have read a few on your list,and a few are on my to-read this next year! I liked the Book Thief a lot. I’m trying to finish Game of Thrones today. It’s a lot more violent than I usually prefer, and I don’t think I will continue with the series, but I just have this quirk of needing to finish what I started.
    Happy Reading in the New Year!

  3. That’s a great number of books!! I have heard a lot of good things (and find many quotes I like) about The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I may have to check that one out.

  4. I’m so jealous! Every time I sit down to read, I either (a) start feeling guilty about the other things I should be doing, or (b) get pulled away-literally-by someone or something else. Sigh. I have to start listening to more books again. It’s the only way!

    I have Fault, but I’ve been putting it off because I received it right around the time my friend was diagnosed with cancer (and has since died). I’m not sure I can handle it.

    I’ve just started Pride & Prejudice, and so far, I’m hooked!

  5. I have a feeling The Fault in Our Stars might get five stars from you! If not, likely four. Hope you enjoy it! This was a cool way to list out your books and let us know how you liked them. High five!

    Happy reading in 2014!

  6. Go girl! I need to make a list of all the books I’ve read and my thoughts on them so I don’t forget! Or should I just join Goodreads finally? Haha. I love ANNE and need to read those again soon!!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

