25 days of giving re-cap.

Janelle was a 25 days of giving rockstar, yo.  I, on the other hand, was completely unorganized and disjointed with my giving.  But every good deed starts a ripple in the pond of life, and so forth and so on.  And by golly it feels nice to do something nice for someone else, doesn’t it?

Here’s what my #25daysofgiving looked like:

Sent thank you notes to soldiers via some ideas on Janelle’s blog.

Answered questions to donate 1200 grains of rice on FreeRice.com.  Sidenote:  I love this website.  I discovered it a few years ago but had completely forgotten about it until Janelle mentioned it on her blog.

Wrote four letters for The 12 Days of Love Letter Writing campaign organized by More Love Letters.

Donated some lightly used clothing and home goods to a local donation center.

Kevin and I have been so good about remembering our reusable bag when we go to Whole Foods.  {I say bag – singular – because we only need one huge Xfinity bag for a week’s worth of groceries.  And it’s awesome to see the Whole Foods clerks try to process whether we’re good people for having a reusable bag in the first place, or evil empire people for carrying a bag that boasts the name of a huge corporate cable company on the side of it.}  We always donate the bag credit to charity, and we also added extra during our holiday trips to the store.

Sent a Christmas card to the friend of a friend who will be spending the holidays in jail.  Hopefully he got a lot of card love and support through the season.

Sent an e-Gift from Starbucks to a blog friend who had a crazy 12 hours of work ahead of her.

Donate a bag of cat food at my local pet shop.  The donated food is distributed to the various rescues and shelters through the city.

Donated a teddy bear and a card game through the toys-for-kids program at Walgreens.

Sent some stationary to a blog friend simply because the pattern reminded me of her.

Donated some funds to Animal Humane.

Made a cash donation to a local rescue mission.

Made a cash donation to a local food bank.

As always, a focused attitude of giving was a wonderful reset for me.  I am ready for the new year and will continue to consciously LOOK for ways to make the world around me a better place.

What inspires you to improve your world? 

5 thoughts on “25 days of giving re-cap.

  1. These are so great! And so you….very unassuming, but wonderful. I love that these projects remind you to look for opportunities to do these kind of good deeds all year, not just at Christmas!

  2. I love this. What a great idea. My church had a website similar to this idea, and I was able to find a family in need and supply them with their Christmas wishes, it was wonderful.

  3. Aww thanks Amy! I am so, so proud of you! And seriously, your participation made me even more excited about 25 Days of Giving. That is huge. I appreciate you so much! Thanks for spreading the giving-love!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

