Post-Thanksgiving thankfulness.

I’ve been compiling a list of things that I’m thankful for – and there are a lot of them.  I mean, A LOT.  I am incredibly blessed.

And I am incredibly thankful.  I’m human (spoiler alert), so naturally, there are times when my temper flares.  When I pout.  When I’m rude.  When I’m jealous.  When I’m less than grateful.  But overall, I wake up every morning to a life that simply could not get any better.  Not because it’s perfect or because I’m perfect – neither of those is possible.  It’s through God’s grace that I am blessed and I only pray that I am forgiven when I’m not as thankful as I should be.

I’m thankful for a garage because I haven’t had to scrape ice, snow, or frost from my car windows a single time this fall.

I’m thankful for random acts of kindness. Like the stranger in the grocery store who used halting English to ask the people in front of me to push their items a little closer together on the belt, making room for the stuff I was juggling in my arms.

I’m thankful for my sweet husband. He is always patient and kind and makes me want to be the best possible person because that’s what he deserves.

image

I’m thankful for people who work hard. Like my parents who each have full time jobs and a ranch/farm to operate. I come from hard working people, and I’m so much better for it.

I’m thankful for my sister. Spending time with her over the long weekend was really fun.  She helped us assemble the bed frame in the guest room.  And she survived the nights she stayed there unscathed and in an intact bed frame – despite the fact that we had four extra screws at the end of the assembly….

I’m thankful for my in-laws. Kevin came by his patience and kindness quite naturally. They have welcomed me with open arms and hearts and I count myself very fortunate to call them family.

Speaking of family, I’m thankful for my aunts, uncles, and cousins. Thanksgiving was at Kevin and my house last Thursday and our sweet house was bursting with energy and love and delicious food, thanks to family and friends. For the first time in 8 years, the 12 first cousins in my generation were united in the same place. So we recreated a picture taken 8 years ago. Everyone is in their same spot – see how we’ve grown?

image

And speaking of growth, here are the 12 of us with the 11 little ones who make up the next generation. I’m thankful for these kids who provided endless entertainment and laughs on the holiday.  They are smart and well-behaved and little reflections of their parents and grandparents.  Even when we do take it toooo far with the pictures.  Sweet little A. has had enough…

image

image

I hope that they grow up to be as close as we are.

image

I’d say they’re off to a good start.

As for me, I want to live my life in a state of constant thankfulness.

What are you thankful for today and every day? How was your Thanksgiving?

17 thoughts on “Post-Thanksgiving thankfulness.

  1. What a great reminder this is to be thankful even when things aren’t perfect (because they never are!)
    I’m so thankful I’ve been able to figure out how to work from home, which makes me grateful in a way that I had trouble finding a full-time job because this is working out better for our family right now. It is making for very long days, but getting checks in the mail is so worth it!

  2. Beautiful and comprehensive list (and such a sweet picture of you and the husband)! I try to recap the things that make me grateful every night before bed, but sometimes, I’m more vinegar than honey.

  3. The recreated picture is awesome! I love doing those.

    As I start thinking about the things I’m thankful for, things coming rushing to my mind. I just need to remember to think about it more often than I do!

  4. Such a lovely post!! I hate scraping ice off of my car, and I have misplaced my scraper so I have to let my car run for a few minutes to thaw!! Those photos of years ago and now are great!

  5. I’m thankful that my nephew found such a sweet and wonderful wife. Our family is extremely lucky to have you a part of it. I’m also thankful I get to go to Mesa on January 1st and get away from the cold and snow in MN. Hope to see you there!

  6. What a great post! I love reading about what others are thankful for becuase I’m like “oh jeez, i forgot about that! I’m thankful for that too!!”

    I can’t wait to be thankful for a garage one day. I hope I get to have one when Jimmy and I buy a house! I will be SO thankful for that, especially with all the snow we get in Pittsburgh!!

  7. This is so super cool! Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    I need a patient man… it doesn’t come in my genetics whatsoever. Can I invite myself to Kevin’s next family reunion and he can do some match-making? haha. Kidding. About the match-making part… Maybe my boyfriend will chill out once he retires from the Army… a girl can hope.

  8. I forget to be thankful for our garage. For the first year we had it, I thought about it all the time, but I’ve gotten quite used to it now. Definitely something I am SO thankful for! No scraping windows or defrosting anything. It’s wonderful! :)

    The family recreation photo is fabulous! I just love it!

  9. Pingback: Spring! | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

