Sweekend.

On Friday afternoon, Kevin and I played hooky from work {is it still considered playing hooky if you have boss approval?} and caught the 2:45 showing of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.  #teampeeta I wore a bird sweater that reminded me of Rue, and a Katniss braid around the side of my head.  A highlight of my life happened after the show when an elderly lady stopped me in the bathroom to say she liked my hair, and THEN she legit did the three finger salute, straight from District 12.

It’s more than slightly ridiculous how giddy that made me.

I also wore some new fleece lined leggings in mint, which are pretty much my most favorite item of clothing ever.  This is what leg heaven feels like, folks.  I ordered mine on Amazon and they were about $10 a pair.  I ordered three pair and I’m using every ounce of self-restraint to avoid logging on and ordering a pair in every color.  I have always been a proud member of the leggings-are-not-pants camp, but, well, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em (especially when they are lined in fleece).

image

We dined at Bravo after the movie – analyzing and dissecting the merits and disappointments of Catching Fire.  We were home by 7:00 with full tummies and leftovers to eat for lunch on Saturday.

On Saturday morning, there was some quality Costco time.  Our shopping cart included beer, wine, bottled water, soup, Airborne, and heartburn medicine.  All in bulk.  Buying in bulk always makes me feel a little patriotic.  “I’m an American and I can store 70 bottles of water and 12 tubes of Airborne with room to spare!”  Really, how many places in the world is that even possible?

We dropped the soup by a stuff-the-truck food drive that a friend organized at a local park.  The wind was frigidddddddd and I began developing frostbite on the tips of my ears, so we didn’t stay long.  All of that is true except the part about frostbite.  But it was just a few minutes away, I’m certain.

It was one of those perfect afternoons.  The kind that you can spend inside when it’s cold outside.  Where you channel hop from Friends to football games.  With reading and leftovers and two cats who normally avoid one another silently calling a truce so they could each claim a lap.

image

I braved the cold to meet a couple of friends at Art Attack in a belated birthday celebration for Leann.  We chose pieces to paint and spent a few hours enjoying the creativity and the company.

image

And I made it home just in time to watch Oklahoma State dominate a football game!

Sunday morning brought a faint dusting of snow and a charity brunch – complete with fashion show.  I managed to make my way through about 10 months worth of filing during the mid-day, and did a work shift for a Junior League fundraiser in the afternoon.

Kevin’s mom made chicken and dumplings for Sunday dinner, and his dad made chocolate chip cookies for dessert.  I don’t think there could have possibly been a more perfect meal to end a cold day or a sweet weekend.

What occupied your time this weekend?  Do you shop at Costco?  And have you watched Catching Fire?

14 thoughts on “Sweekend.

  1. Wow! What an awesome weekend! I haven’t seeing CF yet (I’m totally letting down the YA aficionado part of myself), but I’ve heard all good things! We had a Sams Club membership for a little while a couple years ago. I just haven’t quite gone over to the dark side yet. :) Perhaps if we have kids….we could buy diapers in bulk (which I’ve heard is the only way to buy them. :) )

  2. You look wonderful in your mint tights! I love them!! And I love that bird sweater, too!!!
    I attempted to see Catching Fire on Saturday, but most of the show times were either sold our or too packed for comfort. So, I ended up at Dallas Buyers Club, which I enjoyed immensely!

  3. And they said Baylor would kill the Cowboys. Ha! Try the other way around. I secretly was checking the score while at the ball Saturday night. Sounds like you guys had a great weekend!

  4. This sounds like SUCH an amazing weekend, and it totally made me happy just reading about it! :) And, hmmm, your outfit is ridiculously adorable. I am in love with it!! :)

  5. What a lovely weekend! I love that the lady in the bathroom gave you the District 12 salute! I saw that movie this weekend, too, and I LOVED it, but it made me cry. :( I love your picture with the snuggle-cats, too!

  6. I need a nap just reading about your weekend! I really want to see Catching Fire (I read all three books a while ago). Did Kevin want to see it or was he just being a good husband?

  7. CATCHING FIRE WAS SO GOOD I MUST SEE IT AGAIN!! OMGGAHH. I love your outfit, and your braid, and the old woman in the bathroom story..HAHA! I also love Costco..sheesh so much love.

  8. My brother and I hid from Black Friday and caught Catching Fire last Friday! I thought it was amazing! Seriously way better than the first one! It helped that I have a girl crush on Jennifer Lawrence and that there was loads of cute guys in the movie! Hope you had a marvelous weekend!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

