Paint + Wine.

Some friends and I met one evening for a little Design By Wine.  It’s a perfect social – sip a little wine while creating a masterpiece.  Or, alternatively, open up a tab at the wine bar and create…a picture that you wouldn’t even hang in your garage.  Or some combination of those options.  Regardless, there was bound to be a lot of chatting and laughing.

When you arrive, you’re directed to your stark white canvas.   They point out the aprons, and you don one.  Next you grab a paper plate and paint, labeled with the number of pumps you’ll need of each.  Finally, you grab some brushes – one of each size.

Then it’s time to check out the wine bar.  I ordered the Moscato.

All that’s left to do before the event officially starts is to adamantly insist that you have zero artistic talent, and your finished picture is going to be a big ol’ mess.  This will ensure that expectations are low and no one will be surprised when your picture is, in fact, a big ol’ mess.

The artist instructor turns on her microphone and starts with the basics – for example, what each brush will be called and how to mix paint on the paper in front of your easel.

Then she begins to walk you through the painting, step by step.  Between instructions, she cranks up the music, and you bob your head to the beat, sip your wine, chat amongst your group, mix colors, and wave the brush – much like a wand – over the canvas.  Bippity, boppity, boo.

image

And, for better or worse, the stark whiteness transforms into a colorful creation.

Despite the fact that everyone in the room is listening to the same instructions, no two paintings are the same.  Each painting is representative of the model painting, yet shows some individuality

A few things I learned:

  • It’s okay to blame any shortcomings on the brushes.  “Well, my flowers would have been smaller, but my ‘baby brush’ was having a crazy hair day and simply couldn’t be contained.”
  • A little bit of black paint goes a long way.
  • The brush wielding hand may cramp after three hours of death grip on the tool.
  • The quality of the painting is inversely proportional to the amount of wine consumed.  The lower my glass got, the better my painting looked.
  • I shouldn’t quit my day job.  Inevitably, if I painted full time it would lead to poverty and wino-ism.
  • My husband is the sweetest man in the world.  He correctly identified what the painting depicted, and he said, “Where should we hang it?  Maybe over the fireplace mantel?” It’s true love when a husband volunteers to hang his wife’s elementary painting in a visible place.  I’m still deciding if the world (or even just two humans and two cats) is ready for such a masterpiece.

Have you ever participated in a similar event?  Do you have natural artistic talent – or do you stick to stick figures, like me?

12 thoughts on “Paint + Wine.

  1. I love places like this! We have one called Painting with a Twist. And my first “masterpiece” is actually hanging over the mantel! My husband had it framed and displayed it proudly. Aren’t husbands great? :)

  2. How fun! I think it’s great to try new things like this. And honestly, your painting is pretty amazing. Mine would have looked like a brown blob… Ha, ha. :)

  3. I LOVE these wine, I mean painting events. They are so fun! and I am totally a stick person painter, I mean Picasso! We are doing one for my little sisters bachelorette party in January!

  4. What a cool concept! So Kevin wasn’t interested in doing this as a date? He’s so sweet. And your painting is pretty good for claiming to have zero artistic talent! (which isn’t true)

    I’ve never been able to paint “real” things. I can kind of do abstract though. Try to sell this at a yard sale and see if someone bites! Everyone has their own tastes, ya know. It could be worth a lot! :)

  5. Favorite quotes from this post:

    “…adamantly insist that you have zero artistic talent, and your finished picture is going to be a big ol’ mess. This will ensure that expectations are low and no one will be surprised when your picture is, in fact, a big ol’ mess.” <– this is SO true! I don't really think about it this way, but we totally all do that on craft nights, haha!

    "Bippity, boppity, boo" <– you just brought the magic of Disney to this post! This naturally makes me love you even more.

    "…my ‘baby brush’ was having a crazy hair day and simply couldn’t be contained.” <– I need to remember this one! ;)

    Glad you had fun! You did a great job! :)

  6. Pingback: Sweekend and other recents in life. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

