Playing dress up.

My favorite sport has always been dress up.  I love the challenge of creating costumes out of the contents in my closet.  And doing a little cardio (shopping) when I need a final piece to finish off a look.

I’m not into Halloween for the scary stuff.  I don’t do haunted barns or haunted corn mazes or haunted mansions.  Or haunted anything, really.  But the chance to dress up?  I’m never going to turn that down.

Here’s a walk down memory lane – the ghosts of Halloween and costume parties past.

Audrey

Halloween 2008: I was that free spirited Holly Golightly.

Halloween 2009: Neighbor and I teamed up to be Ginger and Mary Ann.

Flapperish for a '20's themed birthday party in February 2010.

Flapperish for a ’20’s themed birthday party in February 2010.

Neighbor and I teamed up once again to be Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen.

Halloween 2010: We channeled Mary Kate & Ashley Olsen.

Halloween 2011:  Flying high (haha - pun intended) on the Pan Am craze, we opted to be flight attendants.

Halloween 2011: Flying high (haha – pun intended) on the Pan Am craze, we opted to be flight attendants.

This is my go-to costume in general.  I'll be donning the cat ears this weekend when I'm volunteering at a Halloween party for a local charity.

This is my go-to costume. I donned the cat ears this past weekend when I volunteered at a Halloween party for a local charity.

Sonny

Halloween 2012: And this is the crown jewel of Halloween costume ideas in my repertoire.
Sonny and Cher with my Neighbor.

Big plans for this Halloween.  Neighbor and I are teaming up with two other gals at work for a four character costume idea.  Stay tuned.

What is the favorite Halloween costume you’ve worn?  Do you enjoy dressing up? 

13 thoughts on “Playing dress up.

  1. You’re great at the costume thing! One year, I was Magnum PI, which got huge laughs, but other than that, I have never been good at (a) coming up with ideas or (b) feeling comfortable in costume. I have some kind of mental block or something!!

    I cannot wait to see this year’s costume!

  2. My favorite sport has always been dress-up is now probably my favorite quote of all time! I LOVE dressing up too. Is it crazy that I’m stumped on what to be for Halloween though? There are just WAY too many options!

  3. I can’t wait to see what you do this year! Oh, and I totally figured out the Audrey Hepburn look in the first picture before reading anything in the blog! I love her style!

  4. As much as I love all of these costumes, my very favorite thing about this is that you referred to dress-up as a sport. YES. In that world, I could be an Olympic athlete.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

