Late to the book party.

There are very few things that I enjoy more than I enjoy reading. Forever – or at least as far back as I can remember – reading has been my vice, my hobby, my escape.  I was that kid in school (elementary, middle, and high) who navigated the minefield of a hallway blindly, lost in a story, with a book hiding my face.

I associate certain books and book series with specific ages and stages of my life. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry was the book that taught me to not judge a book by its cover. {It looked strange and crude and I didn’t like the little girl’s haircut; come to find out, it’s heartbreaking and beautiful and bursting with courage.} The Boxcar Children, The Babysitters Club, Sweet Valley (elementary, middle, and high), Fear Street, Laura Ingalls, Nancy Drew, Anne of Green Gables, The Chronicles of Narnia… I loved them all.

164_550454033712_2912_n

As an adult, however, I find that I am usually late to the party when it comes to reading.  Generally speaking, this is a perk.  After all, the people who read The Hunger Games part one just as it was released had to wait an excruciating length of time for part two…and then part three…to hit the shelves.  I received the complete set as a Christmas gift, neatly packaged together.  I was able to devour part one…part two…and part three, one right after another in a short span of time. {Which would have been even shorter except I had this genius ridiculous idea that I should WAIT to read the second book until after I’d watched the first movie – which would be months following my completion of the first book.  “Live in suspense,” I said.  “It’ll be fun to space out the trilogy,” I said.  I think that lasted a matter of days, and then I decided that I should at least start the second book – just to be polite.  Before you could say, “May the odds be ever in your favor,” I was sobbing at the conclusion of the third and final.}

But I digress.

I have always been drawn to fiction, although a few non-fiction books have wiggled their way into my heart’s library.

I’m currently reading listening to Gone Girl when I’m working out {which PS – does not happen on a regular basis lately}.  Gone Girl is, like, soooo Summer 2012.

I’m also reading (for real – reading, not listening) The Night Circus, which pretty much everyone in the free world has already raved about.

170_550458439882_6241_n

Let the record reflect that I:

1. Prefer holding-touching-feeling-flipping-the-pages of a real, paper book to reading via Kindle or iPad or Nook or whatever plug-in device is the thing of the moment.  Having said that, I read Les Miserables on the iPad.  All 1000+ pages of it – so light, so portable.

2. Prefer seeing-deciphering-following-the-written-word-with-my-eyes-reading to listening when it comes to books.

Do you enjoy reading?  Paper or electronics in terms of delivery? What have you read that I need to add to my Goodreads shelf?  And all-time favorite book…go!

9 thoughts on “Late to the book party.

  1. I have to admit, when we lived together and you could sit for 6 hours and read non-stop, I thought you were weird. Or maybe a robot. I wasn’t sure. But I am excited to hear what book suggestions you get here!! Okay, here are the books that I’ve given 5 stars on Goodreads (which is hard for me to do, you know):

    The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
    A Lucky Child: A Memoir of Surviving Auschwitz as a Young Boy by Thomas Buergenthal
    Love Does by Bob Goff
    The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    The Luckiest Man: Life and Death of Lou Gehrig by Jonathon Eig
    Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom
    The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch
    Traveling Light by Max Lucado
    Dead Man Walking by Helen Prejean

  2. Oh gosh, I’m right there with you. Would much prefer to hold a book in my hands. Although, I’m ashamed to say, I rarely do except for a bit of night reading here and there. I haven’t read most of the books you are reading lately. However, two of my all time favorites are The Alchemist and Mere Christianity.

  3. I am the same way. I have to be holding the books. Unfortunately, I have had little to no time for books lately. I am still reading Game of Thrones, which is actually pretty good, if I could just find a couple hours to just devour it. :)

  4. It goes without saying that I love this post <3

    I too generally wait till the masses have moved onto something else. Because 1) it's closer to the movie coming out, 2) I get to hear the full spectrum of reactions instead of just omgitsthebestbookeverrrr, and 3) it's easier to get at the library or cheaper to buy.

    I'm also big on paper and notsomuch a fan of digital. But then, I don't own a tablet or Kindle so maybe I'd feel differently if I did.

    Favorite book of all time is The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Yours??

  5. I’m with you on reading from real books. I actually haven’t ever read a whole book on a kindle/tablet. I thumbed through a few pages on my mom’s kindle, but just couldn’t get into it. I like curling up with an actual book and turning each page. I do understand using a reader for a big book or several books while traveling. My parents travel a ton which is why my mom has the kindle and she loves it because she can take several books along in one small tablet instead of literally carting around the books.

    Oh, and I LOVE to read. I always have. It’s hard to name a favorite book because I have SO many, haha! And depending on the time of my life really influences which books were my favorites. I mean, I grew up with Harry Potter so I definitely love that whole series. And I loved the Mark of the Lion trilogy by Francine Rivers (not to mention “Redeeming Love” by her). And when I was little, I definitely loved all the Sweet Valley books, Boxcar children, Babysitter’s Club, Chronicles of Naria, Christy Miller series, etc. And strangely enough, I got really into the Vampire Academy series of books. I listened to an audio version of those while I worked a desk job and that series really made the days fly by. Oh man, I shouldn’t have started listing books because now I feel like I am leaving a ton out, haha! But moral of this story: I love to read. :)

  6. Pictures in my life, Amy resting her head on top of her sleeping pig, reading, Amy sitting on top of the barn sunbathing, reading, Amy on top of the stacks of hay, reading. Beautiful pictures in my past, haven’t read too many books I haven’t liked, ashamed to say I never finished “The House of Seven Gables” in high school, bothered me so much, I tried to read it again when I worked at the middle school library, still couldn’t get through it…..I like to turn the pages of a real paper book…..

  7. Ahh, books, sweet books! I am all about reading memoirs lately. I also like a good “mindless” read while I’m in school– romance novels, blah blah blah. I’ll read almost anything, though. I keep trying to read 50 books in a year (it’s a tab on my blog), and last year I read 48 (I thiiink). This year, I don’t think I’m going to make it.

    I love reading a book and holding it in my hands! I have the Nook app on my phone, and I read while I walk my dog. Probably NOT a good idea, but I love the multitasking!

  8. If I traveled more, I would totally get some kind of digital reader, simply because the night before a trip I always have to agonize over which books to take with me–narrowing it down from like a dozen to one or two. (OK…three or four). BUT the thing that really bothers me about digital is this: A lot of what we learn about the past comes from books. I think in 100 years it’s going to be like the generations living now (and after us) NEVER EXISTED. I know I sound like a crazy person, but that’s what I think!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

