Bloggers Like Us – Meet My Family.

Nicole’s Bloggers Like Us assignment for the month? Present a family portrait…and she encouraged us to get creative.

Well. I’m not a very creative person when it comes to making stuff. So I considered going out and buying a Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head (and two Potato Cats), but then I’d be stuck with four plastic potato beings. Which would have sentimental value since they’re my family and I’d never be able to get rid of them.

I also thought it would be the best picture ever to get Kevin, Kiki, Flo, and myself lined up with the sun just right and take a picture of our shadows. The idea of herding cats into the perfect position and having them pause for at least five seconds in said position for a shadow picture had me shaking my head.

Don’t you love the pictures that children draw of their families? Kids can get away with legs and arms growing straight out of heads and three fingers on the end of each arm. Since I don’t have any children of my own (spoiler alert…), I started plotting ways to find a child who could draw a picture of my family. Hmm, I have a few little second cousins…maybe I could ask one of their parents if I could pay the child a dollar to draw me a picture?

That proposition sounded ridiculous even in my head {a dollar seemed to undervalue the drawing skills of the artist and would that even meet minimum wage requirements?}, so I did what any normal adult would do….

I grabbed a sheet of plain, white 8 1/2 X 11 and a blue highlighter.

Tongue peeking out of the corner of my mouth, I concentrated on drawing a masterpiece…with my left hand. Which is NOT dominant on the body of Amy. If the drawing is going to look ridiculous and childlike, I may as well go all out and use my weaker side.

So here it is…a photo of my family.

image

That’s Kiki – with her brindle coloring and fluffy tail – on the far left. Her poor ear was somehow drawn detached from her head. {Don’t worry – drawing is not to scale. Or really even the least bit accurate.} Then Kevin – with a football hovering awkwardly in the air next to him. It’s football season, you know. And me, in an A-line, polka dot dress (always fashion conscious – prepared for a photo op, naturally). Rounding out the crew is Flo on the far right. She’s bright white (and blue – couldn’t be helped) and one of her whiskers appears to falling off her sweet little face.

What does your family portrait look like? It’s not too late to link up with Nicole!

9 thoughts on “Bloggers Like Us – Meet My Family.

  1. HAHAHA! Before I actually read it I saw the picture and remembering you told me you wanted to find a small child to draw it, I was so happy you had found one. Nope. That was totally you. HAHAHA! Good idea with the left! It turned out great!

  2. ooh, I want to join in on this one too! I recently started working with first-graders, and I just adore the way they draw; it´s so innocent and simple. Now I just have to make my own drawing; which might possibly look like something a first grader would make:-P

  3. Boy,does this ever look strikingly similiar to pictures I have in a drawer.Love your new family, I hope this is framed and on your desk.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

