Soul Food Friday.

I am linking up today with a real life friend. Jen (over at Almost Gypsy Soul) and I went to college together. {Go Pokes!} On the last Friday of each month, she does a link up -“Soul Food Friday” – which calls on readers to think about what feeds their soul.

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think of soul food is (naturally) mashed potatoes and gravy. With some country fried steak. And corn on the cob…. {Apparently it’s lunch time and I’m hungry.}

But Jen goes deeper than that with her Soul Food Friday posts. So I pulled my mind out of my stomach (eww) and thought about it. What feeds my soul?

Cue the appearance of a small child, his parents, and his rope, walking right into my office.

The mom is a friend from high school. She and I recently reconnected through work stuff, and it just so happens that she and her family are in my town this weekend for a wedding.

Her little boy is precious. Nearly 2 years old. Counts to 20. Shakes hands or gives hugs when meeting new people. Says ma’am and sir. And can rope. Great wrist action and hand-eye coordination. Construction cones, concrete pillars, tractors…you put it in front of him and he can find it with a lasso.

Photo (2)

That feeds my soul.  Anytime I see a child with parents who love and support and encourage and provide and teach, my soul gets a little healthier.

It’s easy to be knocked down by the bad stuff in the media and the hardships of real life – they’re out there, no denying it.

But there is so much good too.  And it starts with families like the one I saw today.

What feeds your soul?  Link up with Jen, or at least talk about it in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Soul Food Friday.

  1. How adorable is that little one?!

    There are two specific things that feed my soul (aside from being a mom to a toddler): writing and being surrounded by people I love and admire. Writing has always been part of me, and each time I do it, I feel like I could fall inside of it and disappear for days. And being with friends and family and just laughing and talking has more and more become the best part of my adult life. Recently, I got to hang out with a dear friend and a new friend at a local story slam, and I just loved hearing them chat and cracking up with them about–well, everything! I left for home thinking I could have sat there forever.

    What a great idea for a monthly blog topic!!!

  2. Kindness feeds my soul. Seeing someone do something nice for no other reason than just being nice, that puts me in a happy place. Oh, and a good sale.
    -Joy R

  3. Not even 2 and he can count to 20! Wow. I feel like Little Miss and I need to do some flash cards. She’s a few months over 2 and she can count to 10. I haven’t taught her sir or ma’am yet either, but she is awesome with please and thank you. This is a great blog topic! I would say that good food also feeds my soul – I’m with you on that. A good cuddle also does the trick (either with husband or kids), getting a new library book after weeks on the waiting list, encouraging words from another mom.

  4. being back home in Spain, walking the dogs in the harbor in the evening, while watching the local fishermen preparing for another night on the sea, and all you can hear is the slow waves.. that feeds my soul.

  5. Oh, I like this. Reading feeds my soul, which I think is why it makes me so grumpy when I can’t find a good book! Also, feeling like I’m “in my element” and seeing people I like in theirs.

  6. Hello friend! I am so excited to finally catch up on everything that has been going on with you over the last couple of weeks. This post is so sweet. I definitely relate to this. I find the sweet innocence and sweetness of children to be so precious. And seeing parents loving on their kids makes me teary eyed in a heart beat. :)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

