A hat.

P1000336

Two years ago today my dad passed away unexpectedly in a car accident.  It was Father’s Day and he’d spent the day playing golf – pretty much his favorite thing to do on a day away from the ranch where he worked.   

That’s one of his hats.  He’d take it off after a day of work on the ranch or play on the greens.  It’s made of straw and is rough to the touch.  It has a ribbon of dust and sweat around the brim.  He would wear it when riding horses and playing golf.  This hat has heard his laugh.  It knows the sound of his voice – slow and drawling, always kind and genuine.  It rode on horseback with him, gathering cattle.  And it watched him jot down many a golf score at the end of a game. 

I hope there are horses and golf in heaven.  And straw hats like the one I held today.

10 thoughts on “A hat.

  1. Whew, got my crying for the day over, what a beautiful post. Even though I never knew your dad, I feel like I will know him instantly when I get to heaven. Thoughts for you and your family today!

  2. Ugh. This is a tough one. I bet your dad loves that you still have his hat and have great memories of him in it! Thinking of you and your family today. Hugs!

  3. Pingback: Remembering a cowboy. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

