Shopping and rehearsing and karaoke, oh my.

Thursday was a day of many things:

  • Whale watching
  • Sea kayaking
  • Shopping
  • Driving around San Juan Island (in regular size cars and little scootcars – open-air mini-cars powered by a scooter engine)
  • Arriving (for those who had not come in on Wednesday)
  • Eating
  • Rehearsing
  • Karaoke

Obviously no one person did ALL of those things.  Our group split up and everyone explored the island as they so desired. 

When Kevin and I decided to do a destination wedding, our goal was to choose a place with a whole lotta options for activities (and someplace pretty because I did not want to deal with decorating).  San Juan Island was perfect – there are so many things to do and see. 

Kevin went sea kayaking.  He may or may not have fallen into the water….  :) 

image

Top:  Friday Harbor.

Bottom:  Kevin, his parents, and his best man. 

 

I went shopping.  A whole group of us ladies hopped the transit bus from Roche Harbor to Friday Harbor. 

image

Top:  A bin full of hats?  We’re in – Charlie’s Angels style. –

I obviously didn’t get the we’re-smiling-not-making-weird-faces-memo. 

Bottom Left:  Lisa received her fortune from Zoltar in a little shop. 

Bottom Right:  I found a back-up wedding dress in a consignment store. 

 

image

Top Left:  Shawna and Tessa pose in Friday Harbor.

Bottom Left:  Lisa and Tiffany stop…in the name of love.

Right:  Gorgeous scenery – I’d say so.  No decorations required.

 

image

Top Left:  Sisters in sunglasses. 

Top Right:  My anchor. 

Bottom Left:  Fish and chips.  And an Oreo milkshake.  Tessa made me.  I like to call this photo:

“Geez, I hope my wedding dress fits tomorrow.” 

Bottom Right:  Roche Harbor…I love you.

Tessa and I left Friday Harbor early (after our fish and chips) to make a 1:30 meeting with the event planning people at Roche Harbor.  I feel like I should do an Ode to Tessa post.  That girl – she was the best day-of coordinator EVER.  Kevin and I had to deal with zero issues on the wedding day because she was right there – coordinating with vendors and just all around being awesome.  And the Roche Harbor people were amazing to work with.  If a destination wedding is in your future, check them out.  I highly recommend. 

I’ll follow-up the Ode to Tessa post with an Ode to Shawna.  She stopped by just before the rehearsal began to do my eye makeup. 

The rehearsal was relatively short and sweet.

image

Top Left:  My girls sportin’ their chevron in coordinating colors

(completely unplanned – they just all have great taste).

Bottom Left:  My good friend Derek.

Right:  Pat, Kevin, and me – rehearsing

Then it was time for dinner.  So, so good – it was a BBQ set up near the dock.  Pulled pork sliders, barbeque chicken, pork ribs, corn on the cob, red-white-and-blue potato salad, tomato and cucumber salad, baked beans, wine, beer, sodas, and for dessert…s’mores over an open-pit fire.  Yum. 

image

Top:  Part of the group 

Bottom Left:  Lisa, Manda, Tiffany, Shawna, Tessa, and Derek

Bottom Right: Christina, Matt, Nelson, Todd, Emma, and Kelly

 

Somehow, from there, we ended up at a Chinese/pizza/karaoke place.  Don’t ask. 

image

Top:  The guys singing “Sweet Caroline”

Bottom Left:  Shawna and Derek singing a Taylor Swift — “Love Story”

Bottom Right: Lisa, Tiffany, and Emma jamming a little “Sexy and I Know It”

 

image

Top:  Mom and Aunt Sandy singing “Rose Garden” (they actually sounded quite good!)

Bottom:  “All The Single Ladies”…by the ladies (L to R: Kameron, Lisa, Emma, me, Tiffany, Shawna, and Manda)

It was an action-packed, fun-filled day.  And my last night as a “single lady.”  What can I say…he liked it, so he put a ring on it…. 

11 thoughts on “Shopping and rehearsing and karaoke, oh my.

  1. Ahahaha, I love it. LOVE. IT. And I think that the “somehow we ended up at karaoke” could probably be blamed on me and Derek. Oops! Oh, and in the “Sexy and I know it” picture, I just look confused. LOL. In the one of Kelly, Nelson, Christina, Todd and Emma at the fire…that looks like some sort of summer camp advertisement. I love it! And now I kinda want a milkshake.

  2. Man, what I wouldn’t give for a pulled pork sandwich and ribs and potatoe salad right now….too bad I couldn’t bring some home on the plane, it was sooo good.

  3. I cannot get enough of wedding-weekend fun! There should have been a movie based on this weekend, only instead of drama, it would be non-stop joy!

  4. Oh so fun! I love how you guys just had fun all day long. It looks and sounds like everyone had a great day exploring and playing and then partying together that night. Smart to just play and have fun instead of stressing the day before the wedding. :)

  5. Looks like everyone had a great time and thank goodness, the wedding dress was still a perfect fit after all that delicious looking food, you didn’t have to go with the thrift store back up plan! Since your other dresses had names (Grace and Audrey) perhaps the back up dress needs a name as well….

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

