Goin’ to the Chapel – Weddings.

Kevin and I have attended a fair number of weddings together over the past three years. 

Christina + Matt - April 2013 - Estes Park, CO

Christina + Matt – April 2013 – Estes Park, CO

Tessa + Ryan - September 2012 - Oklahoma City, OK

Tessa + Ryan – September 2012 – Oklahoma City, OK
*photo courtesy of Sara S.

Kelly + Nelson - August 2012 - Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Kelly + Nelson – August 2012 – Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Sara + Travis - July 2012 - Tulsa, OK *photo courtesy of Tiffany

Sara + Travis – July 2012 – Tulsa, OK
*photo courtesy of Tiffany

Joy + Todd - April 2012 - Napa, CA

Joy + Todd – April 2012 – Napa, CA
*photo courtesy of Joy and her photographer

Jessie + Bobby - October 2011 - Edgewood, NM

Jessie + Bobby – October 2011 – Edgewood, NM
*Photo courtesy of my mom

And those are just the ones for which I could find pictures.  {I’m not good at taking pictures – as evidenced by the fact that half of the above pics are courtesy of someone other than myself.}

There was also: 

  • My Uncle Tom married Virginia in November of 2011
  • My cousin KC married Amanda in June of…2011 (I think)
  • The daughter of the head football coach Kevin works with in July of 2012

And I feel like I’m forgetting others…. 

Each of the weddings we attended was beautiful and special in its own way.  My theory is that as long as a wedding reflects the personalities of the bride and groom, it’s gonna be gorgeous.  I’ll take a simple, authentic wedding over an expensive, cookie-cutter wedding anyday. 

I’m lucky to have a groom who is genuinely interested in the planning of our wedding.  He has been involved every step of the way, and I feel as though our wedding is going to thoroughly reflect US.  Our goal when we started this whole planning thing was to not do anything that stressed us out or made the process the least bit “un-fun”. 

Examples:

  1. I’m wearing flats. (But they sparkle, so I think it’s cool.)
  2. We didn’t want a large wedding with a ton of people who we felt obligated to invite – so we decided to go the destination wedding route.  We’ll have around 45-50 people there, which is still more than I anticipated having.  But they’re all people that we’re delighted to to be able to celebrate with on the day.
  3. We didn’t learn a complicated, impressive dance and will simply stick with two-steppin’ like we’ve done for years. 
  4. I refused to even consider a strapless dress because I knew I wouldn’t be entirely comfortable in it. 
  5. He chose a suit and tie that he genuinely liked and will wear again for work and such. 
  6. We didn’t register for a bunch of household stuff that we don’t need just for the sake of registering, opting instead for a honeymoon registry – Traveler’s Joy, which I HIGHLY recommend for couples who don’t need a bunch of stuff.  It freaks the older generation out a bit (understandably – it is a different kind of concept), but at least we’re not trying to cram stuff we don’t need into space we don’t have.
  7. I stopped looking at Pinterest months ago.  It’s impossible to do it all at a wedding (black tie wedding with burlap and lace decor on the beach with a reception in the mountains), but somehow or another, Pinterest was convincing me that I should try.  So I just stopped going there.

There has also been some compromising. 

Examples:

  1. I love love love Jack Johnson’s song Better Together as a first dance song, but Kevin wasn’t sure how we would dance to it and I could tell he didn’t love the song.  So we settled on a George Strait song instead – one we both love. 
  2. Umm – maybe that’s it.  I’m sure Kevin has had to compromise on some things, but he’s too nice to tell me. 

And we’ve been cool, calm, and collected for pretty much the whole process.  I haven’t freaked out a single time or had even one bridezilla moment.  Even when these things happened:

  1. Last weekend, we went to get my wedding band out of the vault at the jewelry store where we bought it a few months ago, and the nutty saleslady (who we had not worked with before – fortunately) walked out of the safe room and said,  “I can’t find it.”  After giving her my last name, Kevin’s last name, our first names, and the name of our future first child (kidding – but it felt that way), she still couldn’t find the ring.  So she called the lady who had sold us the ring (who is on maternity leave), and left a message.  Then she went to check again.  Behold!  It was under another item in the vault and all was well.  But this was a good 30 minutes of the bought-and-paid-for wedding band being MIA. 
  2. For our guest book, we printed our destination site on a large canvas print with our names, the place, and the date.  If only it fit in the suitcase to take it to the destination….  Well, it does, but not when it’s in the lovely protective box that we were planning to use.  Oh well.  Bubble wrap, here we come. 
  3. I have a lovely charm with a picture of my dad in it that my lovely friend Jennifer gave me.  Umm, yeah.  Last night, it disappeared.  I tore the house apart seeking the safe (so safe I couldn’t remember) hiding spot I’d placed it.  Of course, Kevin made a suggestion about where to look, and there it was.  He’s so smart. 

All that to say, for better or worse, this Friday, Kevin and I will be attending another wedding.  Our own.

9 thoughts on “Goin’ to the Chapel – Weddings.

  1. YAY! Your wedding is going to be amazing!!!! and I personally love that you are wearing flats! and that Kevin has had to compromise and he’s too nice to tell you! Congrats!!!!!

  2. So exciting! :-D I can’t wait to see pictures!

    My husband and I also attended a BUNCH of weddings right before ours. It really seemed like there was one every weekend for awhile. I hope you haven’t done what I used to do, which was internally critique each wedding, silently vowing that “ours will be better.” I think (I HOPE!) that was the only bridezilla thing that I did leading up to the day. Thankfully, now that our wedding is over, I can just enjoy attending other people’s weddings without holding up a score card at the end (although, I still think ours was the best wedding ever).

    I’ve never been to a destination wedding, but I LOVE the concept! Where are you guys going (if it isn’t a secret)? :-)

  3. WOOOOO HOOOOO!!! I am so excited for you!!! I love love and weddings and you two adorable people. Congrats! Best wishes! Enjoy!!

    PS – I love “Better Together” as well :) And holy crap you’ve been to a lot of weddings.

  4. We were that way for sure. Planning was a fun thing for us. We never got stressed out by it and Christopher was there helping me make every decision. Like you, I was glad to have a groom who wanted to be involved. :)

    Also… AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so excited for you! Friday will be here before you know it! I can’t wait to see pictures and see everything! :D

  5. I love this post! I love that you are going to make your wedding as stress free as possible. I really respect that!

    And I LOL’s at this “After giving her my last name, Kevin’s last name, our first names, and the name of our future first child (kidding – but it felt that way), she still couldn’t find the ring.” I didn’t LOL that she couldn’t find the ring though!

    I am so excited for you!

  6. I CANNOT wait to hear all about your wedding and to see all of the beautiful pics! Congrats, my bloggy friend! :) And here’s to a dream come true!!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

