Photo Friday Flashback. – Spring Break in DC.

White House

This photo.  It’s dark.  It’s grainy.  But it’s an amazing memory.  From left to right, that’s me, Whitney {Tiffany’s cousin}, Tiffany, and Britt standing at an entrance to the West Wing.  The White House.  The office of the US country boss {as my sweet Chinese friend David called the President}.

In April of 2006, Tiffany, Whitney, and I had a wild and crazy spring break in Washington, DC.  Let me just say – DC is one of my favorite cities visit.  There is a power that vibrates through the capital.

Anyway, Tiffany was considering law school at William & Mary, so we rode the train down to Williamsburg, VA, eventually.  But FIRST our high school friend Britt was kind enough to let us crash at her place in DC.  AND Britt just so happened to intern for the President.  THE President.  Of the United States. And in addition to being the most lovely hostess, she also hooked us up with a night tour in the West Wing.  It was very cool.  We stood behind the podium in one of the press conference rooms, saw the Oval Office, and even had the chance to use a White House restroom.  #tmibutstillworthmentioning

The monuments,  the delicious food, the metro system, the White House and Supreme Court…we had so much fun, touring the city.  My kudos STILL go out to Britt for being so wonderful when we visited!  And thanks to Tiff for considering W&M so we could go in the first place!  {And thanks for deciding to NOT go there – that worked out well for me!}

Have you been to Washington, DC, or the capital in any country ?  Or a state capital?  Would you make the trip for a spring break or are you more of a beach-and-booze kind of spring break-er? 

7 thoughts on “Photo Friday Flashback. – Spring Break in DC.

  1. Wow your hair was short! I live near-ish DC (2 hours) so I’ve been there a bazillion times and there’s always something new or updated to see. Love it! I think every school (HS, college, etc) should offer a trip there because it’s (obviously) a crucial part of our country’s past, present, and future. Plus Forrest Gump was there! haha ;)

  2. I also love DC….in small amounts after about a week I’m ready to drive my own car for miles with very few other cars. The history, monuments etc are most amazing! I did finally score a White House tour my last trip there, but not as intimate as yours!

  3. Ahhh, love it. That whole trip was SO much fun. How many people have peed in the White House? Not many! Thank you for giving up the beach and going with me on a train to Williamsburg. Wild women, we are!

  4. I’ve been to D.C. a couple of times, and I can say, even for a person who is decidedly NOT a history buff, it’s a very cool place to visit. I kept waiting for you to say that you bumped into George W. during your White House tour!! …but the bathroom is cool too. ;-)

  5. Pingback: Photo Friday Flashback. – A bus through Baltimore. | A Desert Girl

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

