Spaghetti squash – a less fearsome opponent than I anticipated.

I love spaghetti squash.  In restaurants.  Where they have the responsibility (and liability) of taking a knife to the strongest vegetable of them all.  Horror stories about the loss of fingers and the exploding squash have always caused me to shy away from attempting to prepare such a tough nemesis.

Last weekend though, I was feeling brave.  There was one lonely little spaghetti squash sitting in the basket at the supermarket and I told K, “Let’s try this.”  It found a home on our counter for a few hours,

Misc Pictures 036

and then I began to poke it with a fork so let the steam out as it baked.  I skewered it about nine times and then I got tired, so I called in reinforcements:

Misc Pictures 037

My hero.

Once it was all full of holes and defenseless, I put it in a baking dish and baked it for a little over an hour at 375 degrees F.

Misc Pictures 004

Then it needed to cool.  For a very, very long time.  Apparently an hour at 375 gets veggies pretty toasty.  Who knew?  Good thing it wasn’t scheduled to be dinner that night.

Misc Pictures 005

Once it was cooled enough to cut into half, well, I cut it into half.

Misc Pictures 006

We scooped out the seeds and little stringy things in the middle, and then used a fork to form the “spaghetti”.  It was put in a tupperware and stored in the fridge until we were ready to use it.

Misc Pictures 007

I found a recipe for Mediterranean spaghetti squash (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/spaghetti-squash-i/) and adapted it a bit as I saw fit.

I began by sauteing some onions and garlic in olive oil.  Is there any better smell in the world?  I’m not so sure.

Misc Pictures 010

Then it was time to add a bunch of other ‘gredients:  halved cherry tomatoes, black olives, Kalamata olives, and the spaghetti squash.  I was tempted to toss in some spinach too and let it wilt, but decided to have spinach salad instead.  And I just remembered as I was typing this that I intended to add pine nuts as well.  Next time…

Misc Pictures 012

Once all that goodness was warmed through, it was time to dig in.  With some feta cheese mixed in for good measure, of course.

Overall, this meal was a hit.  It was fast (since the spaghetti squash had been prepared the day before), super healthy, and is completely adaptable to the provisions available.   K liked it – even though it was all veggies.  He just added some roasted chicken to his spinach salad and called it good.

Have you ever tackled spaghetti squash?  What are your favorite ways to prepare it? 

7 thoughts on “Spaghetti squash – a less fearsome opponent than I anticipated.

  1. That looks amazing. Another friend of mine just did a blog post on her first attempt with spaghetti squash, but it was just with pasta sauce. I will definitely tell her about this post!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

