Bloggers Like Us – Where I Blog

I’m playing along with Nicole’s oh-so-clever project (Bloggers Like Us) which is designed to allow us all the opportunity  to get to know one another a little better.  Assignment numero uno – take a photo of the place that hosts your blogging good times.

Misc Pictures 014

If this desk could talk, it would have some tales to tell. Once upon a time it belonged to my grandmother – my mom’s mom. I never met her; she passed away before I was born. This desk was a part of my childhood though. Once I got a place of my own, my mom let me have the desk, and when I moved in with K, the desk came with me. And like it was meant to be, it found a perfect little home in this spot.

The chair I sit in while at the desk has special meaning as well. K’s great uncle made it, and K’s aunt brought it with her from Minnesota to give it to K. Imagine my delight when I discovered that it matched the desk so well.

Sitting on the desk is my trusty 2006 HP. It has had a couple of hard drive replacements (including a particularly traumatic one the week before finals in my last semester of college), but manages to move quickly and handle everything I need it to handle. Including writing this blog.

A few other odds and ends fill my space – a wooden bowl that was a gift from a family friend, a perpetual calendar made especially for me by Tiffany, an old bottle filled with coins that I brought from my dad’s house after he passed away, an electronic picture frame from my mom, and a childhood penny bank that was made by my aunt out of a vintage glass car battery case.

So this is where I blog. I love that I’m sitting at my grandma’s desk, in a chair made by a relative of my fiance, sharing a bit of my past, present, and future with you.

8 thoughts on “Bloggers Like Us – Where I Blog

  1. Pingback: Bloggers Like Us — Our Bloggy Corners – JUST LIVE IT!

  2. I love that everything in your space has meaning! I am that way with my great-grandmother’s things that I inherited. Nice to meet you! And thanks for stopping by my blog!

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

