Goals: 13 in ’13

One of my mentors (who is also one of the top five smartest people I know) maintains that there are five categories in life and there must be a balance in each category for a person to feel fulfilled.  Those five categories are – spiritual, personal, professional, physical, and social.

Here are 13 goals I’m setting for myself for ’13, by category.

"Write it on your heart that each day is the best day in the year." - Ralph Waldo EmersonWhich has nothing to do with this picture.  Except both are pretty and make me feel peaceful.

“Write it on your heart that each day is the best day in the year.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson
Which has nothing to do with this picture. Except both are pretty.

Spiritual

1.  Attend a different church each month to work toward finding a church home.

2. Look for opportunities to be kind.  Consciously do one kind thing a day and pretty soon it will be routine.  365 acts of kindness.  It doesn’t have to be earth shattering – just something that makes someone’s day the tiniest bit better.  Try to be a better person in each tomorrow than I was today, and better today than I was yesterday.

3. Keep up with the perpetual journal that Tiffany made for me.  Write in it every day. 

Personal

4. Read 24 books.

5. Try at least one new recipe a week.

6. Create a travel map cork board to hang in my house and mark places that K and I have traveled.

Professionial

7. Fund IRA for the 2013 year.

8. Take at least two classes through the local community college or online. –> SQL and QuickBooks

Physical

9. Limit sweets and sodas.  Eat more vegetables.  I’m not setting specific quotas to this one.  I just want to focus on making good choices when it comes to the food and beverages I consume.

10. Work out 208 times.  That’s an average of 4 times a week.  Perfectly doable.  Says the girl who hasn’t set foot in the gym in over a month.

11. Focus on stretching, strength, and flexibility.  Work toward being able to do the splits by the end of 2013.

Social

12. Send 52 gifts and/or cards to friends.

13. Fulfill all Junior League volunteer, community, and social requirements. 

Do you have 13 in ’13?  A year from now, what will you have accomplished?

3 thoughts on “Goals: 13 in ’13

  1. I love all of these!! I’d love to come with you to try out the different churches if you want company! And if we can work out together, you know I’m in for that!

    ~Tiffany

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

