Love Letters

“To write a good love letter, you ought to begin without knowing what you mean to say, and to finish without knowing what you have written.”  -Jean-Jacques Rousseau

A few months ago I stumbled across the “More Love Letters” campaign on this girl’s blog.  As a long time fan of snail mail, pretty stationary, and good old fashion love in general, I was instantly intrigued.  Each month people from near and far write love letters to a person they have never even met.  Someone who is going through a difficult time will receive a bundle of letters, ripe with encouragement, thoughts, prayers, and support.   

In January, “More Love Letters” was accepting a different kind of love letter.  They were putting together a time capsule of love letters that people write to themselves.  Then, in 2013, the “More Love Letters” team will mail those letters back to their original author. 

So I wrote a letter to myself.  I told myself about where the January 2012 me hopes that the January 2013 me will be in life.  So much can change in a year.  Maybe I’ll learn something from myself.  Maybe I’ll remember something that I will have forgotten by the time that letter makes its way back to me. 

If you feel the urge, write yourself a letter and tuck it away somewhere.  A group of my friends and I wrote letters to our 16-year-old-selves – what we wish we would have known then.  That was a great exercise, and so was writing a letter to a future me. 

No one will ever know us as well as we know ourselves.  Don’t I deserve to hear from myself once in awhile?

4 thoughts on “Love Letters

  1. Great idea darling! On an unrelated note…I tried to sign up to get notices of when you post, but it doesn’t tell me until the next day or really late in the day. So, I am sorry for the non-commenting.

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

